Swing in the Center Quilt Block

The Swing in the Center quilt block was a bit of a challenge for me to draw.  I don’t know why…perhaps because it was late when I decided to play with the block.

But I conquered it with a 6 x 6 grid!

In Nancy Martin’s Perpetual Calendar, 365 Quilt Blocks A Year, (my current source for Electric Quilt practice) the block is colored without an accent color.  I like the way the accent makes the block ‘pop’.

One straight set without the accent, and one with:

You’ve probably noticed…the one with the accent color also has sashing between the blocks.

There is no right or wrong, just personal preference.  There are times when one really wants a monochromatic scheme.  Perhaps it fits the decor of a room the best.

Lines can be added/deleted from a quilt block to create alternate blocks to use with the original.  I have three altered Swing in the Center blocks in this next design.

Swing in the Center Straight Set 3

Open spaces in a design let the eye rest, and are opportunities for special quilting.

Swing in the Center Straight Set 4

You can have blocks floating or anchored.

Again, there is no right or wrong.  Just personal preference.

Swing in the Center set on point, with sashing and cornerstones:

Swing in the Center On Point Set

On point design options:

Which is your favorite?

4 responses to “Swing in the Center Quilt Block

  1. Love the way you have altered this block … makes much more interesting design possibilities and as a bonus, more interesting to make.

    Lovin

    • My favorite way to find alternating blocks is to try altering the block I’m working with. And my challenge, to myself, is to design with one block, or one block and a few simple alternates…just to see what I can come up with. I haven’t gotten tired of this challenge yet!

I love hearing from you!

