July OMG 2017 Goal Update

Patchwork Times  drew the number 12 for the ufo project in July.  My project was to come up with a plan to finish blocks that were given to me when I served as President of my local quilt guild.

Way back in 2001.

President's Blocks

I came up with a plan!

President's Blocks

I’ve got backing, batting and sashes cut.

President's Blocks

And I had  a great time sewing each block into an individual ‘page’.  What a pleasant trip down memory lane as I worked on each one!

President's Blocks

I ran out of grommets, so this will have to wait until I can get some more.  Meantime, I do have to finish quilting the blocks.

I’m going to have an awesome (and big) memory book!

I am linking up with Elm Street Quilts for One Monthly Goal (OMG).  Head on over to see what everyone else is doing!

16 responses to “July OMG 2017 Goal Update

  1. This is so special! What a great idea, I’m sure it’ll turn out beautifully!

  2. What a fun idea for your gifted blocks!

  3. What a huge task and as you say the memories so special, must be so heartwarming.

    • The task wasn’t so huge after all, Kathryn. I don’t know why I put it off for so long; I am really enjoying myself while I put this together. 🙂

  4. What a really great idea. 2001 was quite a long time ago ☺, I wonder if time allows the memories of people and events attached to each block to become more heartwarming than if such a project was tackled immediately the gift was received?

  5. Wow. What a fun idea. Thanks for linking up with Elm Street Quilts One Monthly Goal and congrats on your goal finish.

  6. Like your idea and can’t wait to see how this one finishes.
    Sandi

  7. What a lovely way to use those blocks.

  8. Lovely idea, and a great read to take to bed … it might double as a pillow!

I love hearing from you!

