Slow Sunday Stitching

Kate has sown candy-tuft, lupins and peas,
Carnations, forget-me-not and heart’s-ease;
Jack has sown cherry-pie, marigold,
Love-that-lies-bleeding and snap-dragons bold;
But who knows
What the wind sows?

-T Sturge Moore “Winds Work”

Candytuft

Why am I “Candytuft”?
That I don’t know!
Maybe the fairies
First called me so;
Maybe the children,
Just for a joke;
(I’m in the gardens
Of most little folk).

Look at my clusters!
See how they grow:
Some pink or purple,
Some white as snow;
Petals uneven,
Big ones and small;
Not very tufty 
No candy at all!

-Cicely Mary Barker 

The candytuft in my garden is showing off, and I love it!  Spring is such a glorious season of freshness and renewal!

And baseball, too. 

So I continue to work on my Slow Sunday Stitching embroidery while watching baseball.

I finished Block 11 of the Aunt Bea’s Parlor project.

Aunt Bea's Parlor Block 11

And Block 12.

Aunt Bea's Parlor Block 12

Next comes Block 13.

Aunt Bea's Parlor Block 13

Here is a slide show of 12 finished blocks.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I am linking up with the other slow stitchers at Kathy’s Quilts.

18 responses to “Slow Sunday Stitching

  1. Since I am no longer attached to Robin’s Nest, think I will start on Bea’s Parlor. I just love your blocks. Hope you have a great day!

    • I am using Aurifil 40 wt. to stitch the blocks (instead of floss). I’m not using the running stitch either. It will be fun to see how you stitch the blocks! And, maybe, you will finish before I do. Then again, you have a lot going, too. 🙂

  2. Beautiful basket block…thanks for sharing your work with us!

  3. Your blocks look fantastic! I love the way you infuse poetry into your post! This retired English teacher appreciates that! *wink*

    • Jayne, I wanted to be an English teacher, but life took me down a different road. I did homeschool the kids, so I was an unofficial teacher. Ha, ha!

      Thanks so much for stopping by! 🙂

  4. That was a fun slide show! Each basket is so different featuring the various flowers… so pretty! ENjoy!

  5. Very lovely embroidery!

  6. Your finished blocks are so pretty. I have had no luck with growing candytuft. It is so pretty and would great near my rock wall, but it dies each year.

    • Funny, how what grows like weeds for one person, absolutely will not thrive for someone else. I must have the perfect environment for this particular plant.

  7. How beautiful! I love when the plants and trees begin to bloom! It’s like the garden is waking up after a long, long, nap 😊 Your basket blocks look wonderful, and #12 looks like it’s going to be one of the nicest!

  8. Hi, what lovely stitching and I just love baskets. Isn’t it great to have busy hands while catching up on t.v. Now I’m off to check out Aunt Bea’s Parlour Project.

  9. Your stitching is really beautiful!

I love hearing from you!

