Friendship Row by Row – March OMG Update

My March OMG is to work on a friendship row by row quilt from 1999.

Friendship Row by Row

Don’t have a clue why I took the pic at this angle!

Since the rows are uneven lengths, I decided to piece tree blocks to both ends of each row.

I used my EQ7 program to come up with a plan and the sizes of the tree blocks.

The rows won’t necessarily be pieced in this order; I just needed a plan to make them all the same width.

Friendship Row by Row

I’ve printed out the patterns for the tree blocks, and I’ve paper-pieced three blocks so far.

It has been a long time since I’ve paper pieced anything.  Some unsewing has happened.

This is going to take a while.  Maybe the rest of the month!

Meantime, I’ve been playing around with border ideas.  I think I am going to piece four patches. 

A lot of four patches.

Probably another month’s worth.

Friendship Row by Row

Ignore the colors in the above settings.  The colors have nothing to do with the plan. 

And I know that the trees are not symmetrical.  I don’t care.  They aren’t symmetrical in nature, either.

4 responses to “Friendship Row by Row – March OMG Update

  1. But we likes symmetrical Precious, yes we do… lol!!! This will be fun when you have it all together!!!

  2. What a great way to put together your friendship rows. Asymmetrical works for me! (I just finished a very asymmetrical table runner today.)

  3. Pingback: March OMG Update | LC's Cottage

I love hearing from you!

