Country Road Quilt Block

I played a little bit with the Country Road Quilt Block:

Country Roads Quilt Block

I drew the block with a 7 x 7 grid.

It is a terrific chain block!  Here is Country Roads set side by side in a straight set:

Country Roads Straight Set

Rather than look for alternate blocks to pair with it, I experimented with deleting some of the lines in the block to create an alternate block.

The following quilt designs are all created from the Country Roads block and simple variations of it.  All are straight sets.

Country Roads Straight Set

Country Roads Straight Set

Country Roads Straight Set

I am sure that there are lots and lots of variations to this block.  Take some time to play and see what you can come up with!

Happy quilting!

3 responses to “Country Road Quilt Block

  1. Pingback: Country Roads Quilt Block Part 2 | LC's Cottage

  2. I love the changes that are made when we delete lines in a block … we get alternate blocks which fit perfectly with the base block … and some very useful additions to our block library. This block is a beauty to play with!
    I like the second one. And I want to play with where the contrast is in the blocks.

  3. I totally agree with you, Judy! There is lots of room for experimentation, both with altering the block and with value/contrast. I think this is the case with many, many blocks…endless opportunities for creative play!

I love hearing from you!

