Boxy Bags

I was blessed with a glorious three days off!  What to do, what to do?  It isn’t that I don’t have anything to do, it is that I am behind on anything and everything.  Three days is precious…I don’t want to waste it.

So I began cleaning/reorganizing my sewing studio.  I say began, because…well…it quickly became overwhelming.  So instead, I cleaned just enough to work on a project.  Ha, ha!

I found a small tote full of 6″ squares of hand dyed fabric.  This stuff is old and I want to use it up and empty the tote!  Therefore, I cut the 6″ squares into 3″ squares and really filled up that tote.  Sheesh!

Hand Dyed Scraps

I’ve been wanting to make boxy bags for quite a while.  An upcoming trip to Hawaii (2 more months and I’m there!) is just the push that I needed.

Boxy Bags

Pink Stitches has a great tutorial for these boxy pouch bags and it is easy to change the size if one wants to (which I did).

Boxy Bags

I’ll be making more of these.  They will make nice gifts.

Boxy Bags

And I’ve barely made a dent in that tote of hand dyed squares!

9 responses to “Boxy Bags

  1. Soo cute!!! ❤ them!!

  2. I love that one on the left. I’ve been wanting to make one of these too with all the traveling we do. Were they easy?

    • They are easy, Jess! You can make ’em out of one piece of fabric instead of piecing them like I did. You will have no problems with this. 🙂 The one on the left is my favorite, too. I’m going to make another one like the pink/orange and give one to Hannah, and one to Lyssie for Christmas.

  3. Those colors are exquisite!! Almost looks like the bags are made of leather squares. Way to go you 🙂 I’m going to check out that tutorial.

  4. Oh those are so fun – I love how they have substance and stand up a little. Fun way to spend your holiday. Forget cleaning, that’s for ordinary days! 😉

  5. Pingback: Boxy Bags and Zip Pouches | LC's Cottage

I love hearing from you!

