Aunt Sukey Spins Off – Machine Quilting

“As time goes by, I realize that I do trust the wind.  And I often write my songs for myself.” -David Friedman

“How did it get so late so soon?” -Dr. Seuss

“It is the time you have wasted for your rose that makes your rose so important.”-Antoine de Saint-Exupery, The Little Prince 

I have neglected my blog.  I like blogging, so what can I say for myself? 

A demanding job, apathy, depression, a time-out, a boring existence, self-pity, frustration at the lack of control of my life….

Sheesh!  You’d think somebody died or something!  Get a grip!  Change the negative brain recording!

I’m shaping up.  Mentally, that is.  Many of those emotions I’ve listed above apply to a big project.  That would be my Aunt Sukey Spins Off project. 

Yup.  I became bored and frustrated with it, and it became a monster sitting on my shoulders and whispering great doses of guilt into my ears.

I don’t understand myself.  Why…oh why…do I insist on complicating things.  I love the acronym, KISS…keep it simple, Stupid.  I love it, but have yet to apply it to myself.

Here I’ve made this classic traditional red and white quilt.  So far, so good.  But I can’t decide how to quilt it, and I go all out on the thing.  And then I become frustrated.  The quilting doesn’t fit the quilt.

There are times when I really should take a cue from my good friend Judy Butcher.  She knows how to quilt a traditional quilt.

Alas, I’m committed.

We’ll see how it turns out. 

In spite of myself.

Aunt Sukey Spins Off

Aunt Sukey Spins Off Part 1

Aunt Sukey Spins Off Part 2

Aunt Sukey Spins Off Part 3

Aunt Sukey Spins Off Part 4

Aunt Sukey Spins Off Part 5

7 responses to “Aunt Sukey Spins Off – Machine Quilting

  1. Oh, Laura! That does look ambitious, but your pebbles are absolutely gorgeous!! Mine never come out that even looking. And I often have to give my projects a “time-out” when I get frustrated. Glad to see you back on the blog!!

    • Thank you Emily! I don’t think my pebbles are all that even, but I sure do appreciate the compliment! I love that you give your projects a time-out…very encouraging to me! 🙂

  2. It will be beautiful like all your other quilts!!!

  3. Man alive, those are small circles, won’t it take forever? It reminds me of my grandmothers “dime” 5-point star quilt that she made. Very tiny! Your quilt def. will be a work of art when it is done. So nice.

    • It does take some time, Sue, and as you know, I don’t have a lot of time. Ha, ha! Your grandmother’s quilt sounds very pretty. Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

  4. Pingback: One Monthly Goal – 2017 | LC's Cottage

  5. Pingback: January 2017 UFO Goal | LC's Cottage

I love hearing from you!

