Collector’s Pins

“Every passion borders on the chaotic, but the collector’s passion borders on the chaos of memories.” -Walter Benjamin

Not that I think my memories, that inspired my pin collection, are chaotic.  But the pin stash, all jumbled and tumbled, in a drawer, certainly was chaotic.

So I bought a few six inch artist canvases and created some display boards.

Now I have art! 

Collector's Pins

Two boards display pins from quilt shows that I participated in, or visited.

Collector's Pins

Two more boards display pins of places where I have worked, places that I have visited, or places that my daughter has visited and sent pins to me.

Two boards were not enough for these, but the other pins are pinned on hats.  Now they are all nicely displayed together, but I didn’t take a photo of them.  They are hanging on my bedroom wall.

Collector's Pins

If you look closely at the pins, you’ll see that I haven’t attended a quilt show since 2013 (Thank goodness for the internet!). 

Collector's Pins

I simply layered a piece of batting, and stretched a piece of fabric, over the canvas.  I considered using a print fabric, but thought it would be too distracting for the pins.  I used a staple gun to secure it to the back.  Easy peasy!

Add a colored accent with a little hot glue and ribbon.

Collector's Pins

The quilting and quilt show pins are displayed in my happy space…the sewing studio!

Now if I could just figure out a way to display the show ribbons, instead of having them crammed in a hat box!

8 responses to “Collector’s Pins

  1. You are getting quite the collection!

  2. They look so nice! The black fabric makes them stand out. What a great way for you to display them and bring back fond memories 🙂

  3. Oh my goodness – what a fun collection you have going there.

    • Thanks Wendy! Little pins were supposed to be an easy way to remember good times without taking up a lot of space. Ha, ha! Little did I know! But displayed on the wall is sooooo much nicer than tucked in a drawer. And now I have drawer space! 🙂

I love hearing from you!

