Initial Pillow No. 4

This month’s pillow is for my second granddaughter.

I used Cindy Needham’s Ultimate circle stencil to create a guide to free motion quilt.

Hannah Pillow

I didn’t want to use the larger circles, but I did start marking one by mistake. Oops.

Hannah Pillow

After marking the lines from the stencil that I needed, it is simply a matter of ‘connecting the dots’, in my case, for petals.

Hannah Pillow

Then it got complicated.  I had drawn s0 many lines that I really needed to concentrate on which ones that I was going to quilt on.

Hannah Pillow

I thought it easiest for me to outline stitch the lines that I needed, and fill them in later.

Hannah Pillow Hannah Pillow

I hadn’t decided how I wanted to fill the petals, so I quilted the centers and the background first.

Hannah Pillow

Now we are getting somewhere!  Love the texture!

Hannah Pillow

I used Wonderfil Invisifil 100 wt. to outline stitch the letter and the ladybug.  Aurifil variegated 40 wt. was used to free motion quilt the flowers, and Aurifil 50 wt. was used for the background stitching, as well as appliqueing the letter.

Hannah Pillow

The finished pillow:

Hannah Pillow

Just a simple covered zipper backing:

Hannah Pillow

I didn’t think that I would make it this month, but here it is the last day of the month, and I can still link up to QuiltShopGal’s May free motion quilting pillow challenge.  Yay!  I chose Option #1.

Be sure to check out Cindy Needham’s website and blog.  She is a fabulous quilter and teacher!

Hannah Pillow Joy Pillow

Initial Pillow No. 1

Initial Pillow No. 2

Initial Pillow No. 3

33 responses to “Initial Pillow No. 4

  1. That’s beautiful Mom! She’s going to love it!!!

  2. Oh gosh, that’s fantastic!

  3. What a great pillow, looks wonderful.
    mary

  4. love your work… it looks wonderful
    Hugz

  5. Absolutely brilliant Laura. I love the bouquet of flowers you created. Gorgeous. You did a fantastic job.

    QuiltShopGal
    http://www.quiltshopgal.com

  6. Laura your pillow is beautiful! I love the quilting and thread you chose.

  7. Oh! I love-love-love this! NICE job!

  8. Fantastic work, I love !

  9. Great pillow!!! I love your quilting flowers 🙂
    Greetings from Poland
    Kamila

  10. That is pretty. Love how you filled in the petals.

  11. Great job, your FMQ looks beautiful!

  12. Fabulous pillow-so cute, so beautifully quilted and designed!

  13. Beautiful cushion Laura. Your quilting makes me want to put away my piecing (and mouse) and start quilting something!

  14. Laura, that pillow is out of this world PRETTY! You did a gorgeous job. I am not aware of that stencil – will be ordering it tonight!

  15. Pingback: Initial Pillow No. 5 | LC's Cottage

  16. Pingback: Initial Pillow No. 6 | LC's Cottage

  17. Pingback: 2015 Free-Motion Quilting Challenge – May Challenge with Cindy Needham | QuiltShopGal

I love hearing from you!

