Sunday Picnic 2

“And the Spring arose on the garden fair,
Like the Spirit of Love felt everywhere;
And each flower and herb on Earth’s dark breast
Rose from the dreams of its wintry rest.”
― Percy Bysshe Shelley, The Complete Poems

 

“Spring work is going on with joyful enthusiasm.”
― John Muir, The Wilderness World of John Muir

 

A chickadee was perched amongst the branches of the apple tree while I was snapping pictures of blossoms.

What’s he/she up to?

Chickadee

Aha!  There is a dead stump protruding from the side of the tree, and look what is deep in the hollow:

Chickadee Nest

Someone is preparing for a family!

The pines are growing:

Pine

For the curious, that is my home sweet home down there:

Home Sweet Home

Practicing the macro setting on the barbed wire:

Barbed Wire

The maple tree is budding out!

Maple

And the candytuft is blooming!

Candytuft

A beautiful crown imperial blossoming in the front garden:

Crown Imperial

The always lovely bleeding heart:

Bleeding Heart

Blossoms from the fabulous crabapple tree in the back yard:

Crabapple

I should have taken photos of the lilacs blooming.  Their fragrance greets me through every open window, and each day, when I come home from work.

Heavenly!

“Can words describe the fragrance of the very breath of spring?”
― Neltje Blanchan

 

*I suggest clicking on the photos for a closer peek.

**Click the link for more photos from my previous post .

9 responses to “Sunday Picnic 2

  1. Beautiful! I can’t wait for the flowers to bloom here! I planted a bleeding heart out front. How is my lilac doing? Did it survive the move?

  2. Your flowering plants are beautiful! When I was a girl we lived in Vancouver, BC and I remember our neighbours roses and rhododendrons but now I live on the prairies (Alberta) and I often think of the title of a book by a famous Canadian author, W.O.Mitchell; ‘Roses are difficult here.’

  3. Love the setting for your house!

  4. 2bleubirdzsssing4u

    Your flowers are gorgeous. I especially love crabapples (we have 8, a little brighter pink) and bleeding hearts, and oh, the white pine takes me back to my grandparents’ place along the river. Lovely macros. Enjoy.

I love hearing from you!

