Sunday Picnic

“Do not let Sunday be taken from you.  If your soul has no Sunday, it becomes an orphan.” -Albert Schweitzer

“Sunday is the golden clasp that binds together the volume of the week.” -Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

 Sunday was such a glorious spring day!

Hubby packed up a picnic lunch and we had a date!  We hiked up the hill behind the house, sat on the damp ground, and soaked up the sunshine.

Lunch was great, the view was great, and the company the best of all!

We took advantage of a gorgeous lazy Sunday afternoon, and practiced with our cameras.  I have a new pocket camera, and don’t know how to use it.

One of my first shots was this black and white of the Columbia River:

Columbia River

I have no idea how my camera was set on black and white display, but I like the results!

Another first shot was a photo of our feet; I thought I was turning the camera off, but pressed the wrong button.  I deleted that shot.

There is a lot of balsam arrowroot sharing their bright cheerful faces in my part of the woods.

Balsam Arrowroot

I don’t know the name of this delicate, tiny harbinger of spring:

Smallflower Woodland Star

*Update: The above is a Smallflower Woodland Star, or Prairie Star.  I found lots on Google; this link will get you started if you care to research it.

Continuing to practice the macro setting on the pear blossom:

Pear Blossom

And the apple blossom:

Apple Blossom

Love the moss living on the apple tree trunk!

Moss Living on the Apple Tree Trunk

I shall share more from this wondrous date when I have the opportunity. 

Relish the world around you!

*I suggest clicking on the photos for a closer peek.

16 responses to “Sunday Picnic

  1. Wow, those are fantastic photos, especially for a pocket camera! What brand is it?

  2. Whatever that beautiful little white flower is, it has unusual petals!

  3. It was a glorious afternoon!!! Thanks for sharing it with me babe! Love you tons, ME

  4. Beautiful photos! I had never heard those quotes before and they are lovely. Nice post!

  5. Pingback: Sunday Picnic 2 | LC's Cottage

  6. Nice job with the moss – I’ve always found this a particularly difficult subject… i guess a macro lens is what I need, to get the full ‘landscape’ potential of this lovely plant.

I love hearing from you!

