Initial Pillow No. 3

This month’s initial pillow is for my oldest granddaughter (who is not all that old).  I appliqued a pink letter A onto a patchwork background.

I am using 50 weight Aurifil in the bobbin.  I tried something new to me for my top thread…Wonderfil’s Konfetti, also 50 weight.  I had trouble with it fraying until I switched to a size 14 needle.  Then all was well!

Alyssa Pillow

I like Christina Cameli’s peapod free motion quilting design, so I used it here.  I stitched with a small scale, so didn’t really like how it turned out.  At first.  After I got the whole picture, I decided the texture was pretty cool.  However, I still think I’d like the peapod design stitched out on a larger scale better.

The peapod fmq design is alternated with Christina’s branching free motion quilting design.  I felt the same about the results of this stitching, as I did with the peapod stitching.

Here is how the completed quilting looks from the back (as a wholecloth project, I really like it…but no one will ever see the back):

Alyssa Pillow

A closer look:

Alyssa Pillow

The front of the pillow top before sewing into a pillow and washing:

Alyssa Pillow

The completed pillow (washed, so that I can admire the texture washing creates):

Alyssa Pillow

The back is made from a sweet plaid, and has a concealed zipper.

Alyssa Pillow

I chose option #4 from QuiltShopGal’s 2015 April Free Motion Quilting Challenge.  I am linking up here.

Check out Christina’s blog; she has many ideas and tips to help and inspire your free motion quilting!

Alyssa Pillow

Joy Pillow

Initial Pillow No. 1

Initial Pillow No. 2

19 responses to “Initial Pillow No. 3

  1. It’s so pretty! The fabrics & the colors… it all comes together very nicely! I’m sure your granddaughter will love it! The quilting you did on it looks great!

  2. Your pillow is beautiful Laura! It is so great to be able to have tutors at our fingertips (via the internet)! Also I’m going to check my needle size as I often have thread fraying problems. And thank you also for the kind comment you left on my blog.

  3. So so pretty!!

  4. lovely pillow and I like the quilting on a small scale… it suits it…
    Hugz

  5. Che meraviglia mi piace tantissimo questo cuscino 🙂

  6. Pingback: Initial Pillow No. 4 | LC's Cottage

  7. Pingback: Initial Pillow No. 5 | LC's Cottage

  8. Pingback: Initial Pillow No. 6 | LC's Cottage

I love hearing from you!

