Word of the Year – Joy

My daughter signed me up for Ali Edwards’ One Little Word class (She did ask if I would like to try it first.).  My daughter is a creative, prolific scrapbooker, and I love what she does.  She has played with paper ever since she was a tiny tot.  I, however, am not a scrapbooker.  But she assures me that I don’t have to be to enjoy this class.

In fact, she bought a journal for me instead of a binder.  I haven’t written a word in it, yet, but I love it! 

Joy Journal 2015

I will write in it soon.

As you can see from the cover of the journal, I have chosen the word ‘Joy’ for my word this year.  I’ve had some tough times the past few years and I’ve lost my ‘muchness’.

I understand that joy is an attitude; a choice.  But it is much more than that, and I shall be exploring it this year.  I hope to be a better person by the end of this year.

I splurged and bought a reminder to wear everyday.

Joy Bracelet

I love this cuff bracelet!  It is hand made, well made, and I supported the maker in my small way. 

I had decided that I wanted a pillow, and then I saw the 2015 Free Motion Quilting Challenge.  For January, there are three options to choose from.  I’ve chosen a variation of Option #3.

I altered a design found in my Electric Quilt program and traced it onto my fabric with a blue water soluble marker:

Joy Pillow

Joy Pillow

I drew quilting ideas onto my paper pattern (it got a lot messier later):

Joy Pillow

Using water soluble thread, I sewed two layers of batting underneath the letters and the surrounding heart shape.  After sewing, I cut away the excess batting.

Joy Pillow

Joy Pillow

I chose a 12 weight orange Aurifil thread to outline the letters and heart shapes.

Joy Pillow

The filler was sewn with a 50 weight cream Aurifil thread.

Joy Pillow

All of the stitching is done with free motion.

Joy Pillow

I need a larger pillow form to fill out the pillow cover better.  It is on my shopping list.

Joy Pillow

My happy place, the sewing studio, is lime green and white.  Orange poppies and lime green (functioning as the zipper cover) make me smile.  This pillow will fit right in!

Joy Pillow

 

28 responses to “Word of the Year – Joy

  1. Beautiful and so creative!!! I love it!!!

  2. Alana Costigan Stettler, Alberta, Canada.

    I would like to order the spider (something) block that was on your page last week. Is it available?

  3. Very pretty…love seeing all the different pillows and what people have done with it. Will have to try Trapunto…that makes the areas pop so nicely

  4. Thank you Karin! I am enjoying everyone’s pillows too! And I am also picking up a tip or two as I visit blogs.

  5. Very Joyful!!! I think your muchness is coming back quite nicely, I hear you laugh more each day at little things!!! Love you very much, ME

  6. lovely pillow… I love the hearts around the hearts….
    Hugz

  7. Very nice work with your pillow Laura…love the colored thread

  8. Thank you Marjorie! 🙂

  9. Very nice fmq! Love the idea of putting a word on the pillow. Thanks for the inspiration.

  10. Wow, beautiful work on your pillow.

  11. Love your one word for the year… Choosing Joy ! and your pillow looks fantastic. Thanks for sharing.
    mary

  12. Your pillow looks beautiful and I really like your word of the year!

  13. Nice one Laura. I wanted to join in the fmq fun but still havn’t got the time just yet. Hopefully soon!

  14. Pingback: Initial Pillow No. 3 | LC's Cottage

  15. Pingback: One Little Word Vision Boards | LC's Cottage

  16. Pingback: Initial Pillow No. 4 | LC's Cottage

  17. Pingback: Initial Pillow No. 5 | LC's Cottage

  18. Pingback: Initial Pillow No. 6 | LC's Cottage

I love hearing from you!

