Gingerbread

It is that time again…the time when new resolutions and goals are being stated and written everywhere.  A time when one’s hopes are fresh and new beginnings bring brightness to one’s future.

So…what are my goals?

A haircut and a dentist appointment. 

I believe in reachable goals.  Don’t you? 

It has been months since I’ve had either of these.  Last summer, I think.  I lost a filling sometime back then.

I do have a long-term goal.  It is more elusive; at least for me.  I intend to find it.  My word for 2015 is ‘Joy’.  More on this later.

The first day of the new year, I spent baking and sewing.  How great that feels!  It has been a long time.  I’m not ready to share what I am sewing, but I can share what I baked.

My favorite gingerbread recipe!

Gingerbread Recipe

*Click on the photo for an enlarged peek.

It is from my favorite cookbook.  The American Woman’s Cookbook, published in 1947, and given to me by my mother-in-law when I was a young bride.

American Woman's Cookbook

American Woman's Cookbook

A very joyful New Year to you all!

Gingerbread

5 responses to “Gingerbread

  1. I have a question, in the gingerbread recipe it says shortening, does it mean butter, or do you really put that much shortening in it?? Date: Fri, 2 Jan 2015 16:01:56 +0000 To: blessedbe95@hotmail.com

  2. It really means shortening, and it really means 1/2 cup. 🙂

  3. And it is really, really good!!! I know I ate two pieces with real whipped cream!!! Thanks Babe!!!

  4. Happy New Year! That gingerbread sounds great. So glad you got to bake & sew… Can’t wait to see what you made 🙂

I love hearing from you!

