Color/Value Visual

I thought that you might like to see a visual experiment on what color/value can do in a quilt design.

I am using the Autumn Tints block in a straight set and with the same five colors in every design that you see.

The very first design is the Autumn Tints block set side by side with no sashing.  All of the other designs have sashing between the blocks (I wanted to see if I could introduce some perspective to the design).

Autumn Tints Straight Set

Autumn Tints Straight Set

Autumn Tints Straight Set

Autumn Tints Straight Set

Autumn Tints Straight Set

Autumn Tints Straight Set

Autumn Tints Straight Set

Autumn Tints Straight Set

I came up with even more variations just by moving the color/value around.  Sometimes there are very interesting effects, such as squares appearing to ‘float’.

There will be a visually appealing look just for you if you experiment with color and value!

I participated in the Around the World Blog Hop in this post from last week.  I encourage you to check out this week’s participants:

Cathi Godwin over at Quilt Obsession
Linda Jo Reed over at Upheld in the Battle
Amy Johnson over at Amy’s Free Motion Quilting Adventures
 
4 responses to “Color/Value Visual

  1. What a wonderful example of how value can change a block … totally!

    With time we could play with any block in the same way … and try each one with and without sashing. Pity there is only so much time in a day!)

  2. Thanks Judy! If I had the time, I could’ve done quite a few more variations. It was fun to play!

  3. Love this pattern. My favorite variation would have to be the second photo.

I love hearing from you!

