Baton Rouge Square Quilt Block

 

I played with the Baton Rouge Square quilt block this week.

Baton Rouge Square Quilt Block

I drew it in Electric Quilt with a 5 x 5 grid.  If you have BlockBase, it is #1808.

Here is the block set side-by-side:

Baton Rouge Square Straight Set

I like the floating yellow diamonds.

With a slight variation to the Baton Rouge quilt block, I now have a pretty little alternate block to create a new design with.

Baton Rouge Square Straight Set

And again, playing with slight variations, both in drawing, and in color placement:

Baton Rouge Square Straight Set

I’d explore the above a bit more.  I can see stars in that alternate block, and it could be worthwhile to make those more prominent.

All I did to create the next design was change the direction of the purple/white half square triangles.

Baton Rouge Square Straight Set

One doesn’t have to make big drawing changes to create an impact in one’s design.  Just start small and see what happens.

Baton Rouge Square Straight Set

By the time that I created the next two designs, I was warmed up and having fun!

Baton Rouge Square Straight Set

Baton Rouge Square Straight Set

The above requires some work, but it definitely has potential.

I’ve got about 30 design variations in my project folder, and I haven’t tried turning this block on point yet.  That will be next week’s play.

Which do you like best?  Or none at all?

 

7 responses to “Baton Rouge Square Quilt Block

  1. By the time you got to number five I was hooked!

  2. Wow, those are so pretty… But my favorite was the one with the floating yellow diamonds. I don’t think I would’ve ever thought of this color combination, but it is very nice… I might just try it! 🙂

  3. Love that green fabric with the little flower! Pretty block!

  4. Pingback: Baton Rouge Square Quilt Block Part 2 | LC's Cottage

I love hearing from you!

