Aunt Mary’s Double Irish Chain Quilt Block

I played with Aunt Mary’s Double Irish Chain quilt block this week.

Aunt Mary's Double Irish Chain Quilt Block

I drew it from a 8 x 8 grid, but if you own BlockBase, it is #2342.

Here is how the block looks when set side by side in a straight set:

Aunt Mary's Double Irish Chain Straight Set

This block was a real challenge for me.  I had a creative blockage, and I really fought the temptation to do a google search.  However, I resisted.  I have never yet resorted to looking at how someone else has used a block.  I don’t want the influence…I want to see what I can come up with on my own.  Otherwise, what is the point in playing with blocks?

So, a little rearranging of the values to get those creative juices started:

Aunt Mary's Double Irish Chain Straight Set

Aunt Mary's Double Irish Chain Straight Set

Of course, the design doesn’t have to be a two color quilt (and there are gorgeous traditional two color quilts), and the blues and whites could be scraps of all shades and tints of blue and white.

Or yellow stars could be added to the mix:

Aunt Mary's Double Irish Chain Straight Set

It isn’t hard to add the lines to the Aunt Mary’s Double Irish Chain block to create the stars, but they can be found in Electric Quilt’s block library.  I found a crossing block to play with too.

Aunt Mary's Double Irish Chain Straight Set

One more…again moving the value around…just to see if I might like it better:

Aunt Mary's Double Irish Chain Straight Set

Do you?

5 responses to “Aunt Mary’s Double Irish Chain Quilt Block

  1. I like the second to last one … but waiting to see what happens when you turn it on point!

  2. I’ve been looking for a nice, triangle pattern I could start on… maybe one of these will be it!

  3. Pingback: Aunt Mary’s Double Irish Chain Quilt Block Part 2 | LC's Cottage

I love hearing from you!

