Twinkling Star Quilt Block

I really like this week’s choice, Twinkling Star, from Nancy Martin’s Perpetual Calendar 365 Quilt Blocks A Year.

Twinkling Star Quilt Block

I drew it from a 3.5 x 5 x 3.5 grid.

Even though I really like this quilt block, I had a difficult time getting inspired and original with it.  I don’t know why. 

Here is how Twinkling Stars looks set side by side in a straight setting:

winkling Star Straight Set

I find it boring.

I’ve altered the block a bit and set the new block, along with a low contrast traditional block, and the Twinkling Star in a new straight set design:

winkling Star Straight Set

Now I’m not so bored with it.

Another design, but I think the red stars overwhelm Twinkling Star:

winkling Star Straight Set

It might be worth exploring if I changed the size of those red stars.

What if I darken the color and alternate Twinkling Star with a different traditional block?

winkling Star Straight Set

I like it!

Next, I tried mixing in a chain block.

winkling Star Straight Set

My low contrast might be too low contrast.  I’m influenced by my friend Judy, the Virtual Quilter.  She uses a low contrast technique frequently for her backgrounds, and I like how it looks.

winkling Star Straight Set

winkling Star Straight Set

Have a blessed happy new year full of wonderful times of creativity!

7 responses to “Twinkling Star Quilt Block

  1. I like #3 the best. Lots of room for lovely quilting. It is a lovely block.

    • Which goes to show that there is no right or wrong. We all like what we like. LOL! #3 is the one that I thought that the red stars overwhelmed the Twinkling Star blocks. What do I know? Ha, ha!

  2. I like all your settings! Beautiful. 🙂 Happy New Year to you.

  3. Thank you Wendy! A very blessed New Year to you, and your family, too!

  4. The block is rather interesting … and so are the results. I like the one with the dark border, and the dark contrast block … from the one who likes to use low contrast! (Never want to be too predictable!)

  5. Pingback: Twinkling Star Quilt Block Part 2 | LC's Cottage

I love hearing from you!

