Christmas Tree Quilt Block

I played with the Christmas Tree quilt block this week.  I chose it from Nancy Martin’s Perpetual Calendar 365 Quilt Blocks A Year.

Christmas Tree Quilt Block

I easily drew the block from a 6 x 6 grid.

Here is how it looks set on point in a quilt design:

Christmas Tree On Point Set

And here is what happens when the blocks are rotated:

Christmas Tree On Point Set

I like it!

How about adding a group of friendly snowman:

Christmas Tree On Point Set

The snowmen will look cute when they are embellished with thread and buttons!

I found the applique shapes in Electric Quilt’s library.  I did alter them a bit, but EQ sure makes designing so much easier!

One more:

Christmas Tree On Point Set

I need more contrast, but otherwise I’m happy with the designs.

Merry Christmas to you and your families!

7 responses to “Christmas Tree Quilt Block

  1. LOVE IT!!!!!!!! What a great block….makes into beautiful quilts!!

  2. Laura,

    Wow! I wish I had thought of that!

    Who would have thought that using a familiar tree block could create such interesting designs when you use them a bit differently!
    Love the snowmen too!

    Have a merry Christmas!

  3. Pingback: Red and White OP 32, 33 and 34 | Virtual Quilter

  4. I love the rotated version that makes stars!! And I think I have some very similar blocks in a ufo pile from my aunt. Now I’m going to have to pull them out and play- you may have just solved my dilema of what to do with them!! Merry Christmas!

I love hearing from you!

