Art Square Block Part 2

Art Square Quilt Block

Last week we looked at the Art Square Block in straight settings.  Now we’ll look at it set on point.

Art Square On Point Set

I like it set on point, as I do most traditional blocks.  Here is the Art Square set with sashing and cornerstones:

Art Square On Point Set

I like it, but I like it a whole lot more like this:

Art Square On Point Set

Just the simple addition of another color and a plain block can make all the difference!

Let’s try it with the pinwheel block that I drew from the Art Square block.

Art Square On Point Set

Hubby likes it, but it isn’t my favorite.

I prefer the nine-patch variation (which he didn’t see when I was playing around).

Art Square On Point Set

It is a busy design.  What if I added the plain block to it?

Art Square On Point Set

I like it much better!

And what if I reversed the nine-patch variation and the Art Square blocks?

Art Square On Point Set

I still like it!

What are your thoughts?

4 responses to “Art Square Block Part 2

  1. Lovely! Reminds me of a snowflake!!

  2. I am fascinated by the first two … I am having real trouble recognizing the block. It seems to be hidden in full view … or I need a second coffee to get focused this morning.

  3. Good morning Judy! I was very tempted to showcase the stars that I see in the first two. 🙂 Sometimes these simple traditional blocks are full of surprises.

I love hearing from you!

