Washington State Quilters Spokane Chapter Quilt Show Part 7

*For part one, click here.
*For part two, click here.
*For part three, click here. 
*For part four, click here. 
*For part five, click here.
*For part six, click here.
 

Clicking on a photo will give you a closer look.

I love basket quilts (okay…I love most any kind of quilt)!

WSQ October 2013

The detail that I noticed in this quilt is the intricate sawtooth sashing.  Cool!

WSQ October 2013

Look at the pieced background in this next quilt!  And the light shining on our star figure skater!

WSQ October 2013

WSQ October 2013

The next quilt has a great tactile quality to it.  I wanted to touch it, but I didn’t.

WSQ October 2013

WSQ October 2013

WSQ October 2013

WSQ October 2013

Don’t you just love the scalloped border?  What a lovely way to finish off this floral beauty.

WSQ October 2013

WSQ October 2013

I admit, I was drawn by the striking red and white of the next quilt.  I wish I had paid more attention to how it was made.  It could’ve been done with reverse applique, or perhaps by paper cutting (also known as Scherenschnitte).  Or with fusible web.  There are many ways to applique.  In any case, I love it!

WSQ October 2013

Lou Carver created this wonderful memory book commemorating Dr. Latham, Spokane’s pioneer female doctor.  Way cool!

WSQ October 2013

There was not a lot of wearable art at this year’s quilt show, but I have a jacket to show you.

WSQ October 2013

Love those pintuck sleeves!

11 responses to “Washington State Quilters Spokane Chapter Quilt Show Part 7

  1. Ooh, that darling red and white tree would also make a fabulous quilting design! I love that the branches are all different!!

  2. Thanks for the posting the great photos from the WSQ quilt show. I felt like I was back at the show again. Your comments are so informative. I absolutely love your blog, neighbor!

  3. Love that Christmas Tree!

  4. The tree is just gorgeous … and the tactile effects look good on the screen, but not great to touch.

  5. Pingback: Washington State Quilters Spokane Chapter Quilt Show Part 8 |

  6. Hi Laura,
    Thank you for sharing your visit to this quilt show with us. I only just now had time to sit down and enjoy all 8 entries. It is great and very inspiring to see all the close up pictures!

    About the christmas tree: It is a pattern by Kellie Wulfsohn of Don’t Look Now, named Oh Christmas Tree. She uses a special fused raw edge applique technique. First she fuses everything in place, and then she makes the sandwich. Next, she machine quilts her applique down by stitching closely around the edge of the patches twice. Of course that is not necessarily how the quilt in the picture was made.

    Hugs, Annika

  7. Pingback: Washington State Quilters Spokane Chapter Quilt Show Part 9 |

I love hearing from you!

