Washington State Quilters Spokane Chapter Quilt Show Part 1

Attending a quilt show is so inspiring, and the Washington State Quilters Spokane Chapter’s quilt show is no exception.  In fact, it is exceptional!  Art quilts, antique quilts, traditional quilts, embroidered quilts, youth quilts, modern quilts, wearables…I love it all!

Hubby took a lot of photos for me (my camera is big, and I didn’t want to carry it), so I’ll be sharing with you for the next few posts.  I don’t have the names of the makers…I do apologize for that!

For the most part, I will show detail photos, rather than the entire quilt.  Clicking on a photo will give you a closer look.

My first example is a machine embroidered beauty.  The color, shown off by that black background caught my eye first.  Looking closer, the machine embroidery is exquisite, and the piece is embellished with beads.

WSQ October 2013

I was going to show the next quilt in its entirety, but have somehow lost it during editing.

I have made a 108″ applique quilt from these very colors so, again, the color drew me first.  What is so wonderful about this next quilt, is that it is hand quilted.  I am so impressed by quilters who still hand quilt!

WSQ October 2013

The next two photos are taken from a beautiful memory quilt.  Memory quilts are awesome gifts and family heirlooms!  What I particularly love about this one, is the detailed quilting; for instance, the quilted tree representing the family tree and the homestead.

WSQ October 2013

WSQ October 2013

The next quilt is a modern quilt.  I like the subtle background against the intensity of the blocks in the foreground.  This is a great example of how important contrast is.

WSQ October 2013

In the next modern quilt, the space cried out for showing off quilting, and the maker doesn’t disappoint.  What a terrific quilting sampler!

WSQ October 2013

WSQ October 2013

One more example of how quilting ‘makes the quilt’.

WSQ October 2013

What princess wouldn’t want to live here (or have this quilt hanging in her retreat)?  There is lots of detail to draw one in…so fun! 

WSQ October 2013

I thought the suns were mosaics, so I took a closer look.  It is machine embroidery over applique. 

WSQ October 2013

This next quilt, called ‘Those Eyes’ by Nita Deen is for all of us cat lovers (and there are a lot of us)!

WSQ October 2013

Nita hand painted the cats.  Way cool!  I’ll leave you with a close up of one of these cats.

And happy quilting…no matter how you like to do it!

WSQ October 2013

21 responses to “Washington State Quilters Spokane Chapter Quilt Show Part 1

  1. Was fun to be with you and to be your photographer for the day!

  2. Oh, how wonderful they all are! Thank you for sharing all this fantastic eye candy!

  3. Some lovely work there! The colour works really well in all of them.

  4. Wow, what a show! I love your eclectic taste from the modern to traditional, etc. I haven’t been totally smitten by most embroidered quilts, but that first photo-oh my, what beauty! Thanks for sharing.

    • Jenny, I’ll never have an embroidery machine because that isn’t ‘my thing’. However, I can still admire how others use it. There is such a variety to quilt making, and I really enjoy seeing what others have accomplished. Quilts, and quilting, have come a long way! I’d like to show those who want to quilt to be free to go for it, no matter the technique(s) he/she chooses.

  5. Pingback: Washington State Quilters Spokane Chapter Quilt Show |

  6. Pingback: Washington State Quilters Spokane Chapter Quilt Show Part 3 |

  7. Thanks for sharing these great photos Laura. You captured a really wide variety of modern quilting techniques.

  8. Pingback: Washington State Quilters Spokane Chapter Quilt Show Part 4 |

  9. Oh, I thoroughly enjoyed the quilt show. SO MANY talented quilters… I want to quilt like them when I grow up.

  10. Pingback: Washington State Quilters Spokane Chapter Quilt Show Part 5 |

  11. Pingback: Washington State Quilters Spokane Chapter Quilt Show Part 6 |

  12. Pingback: Washington State Quilters Spokane Chapter Quilt Show Part 7 |

  13. Pingback: Washington State Quilters Spokane Chapter Quilt Show Part 8 |

  14. Pingback: Washington State Quilters Spokane Chapter Quilt Show Part 9 |

I love hearing from you!

