Anchors Aweigh Quilt Block

Anchors Aweigh is another quilt block from Nancy Martin’s Perpetual Calendar 365 Quilt Blocks A Year.  And yes, that is the name of the block…not Anchors Away.

Anchors Aweigh Quilt Block

I drew the block on an 8 x 8 grid, but it doesn’t have to be.  One can certainly draw her own version of the anchor.

Here is how it looks in a straight set:

Anchors Aweigh Straight Set

I wasn’t impressed either.  So I played with rotation.

Anchors Aweigh Straight Set 2

I like that better.  I played with color too.  Contrast is very important!

Anchors Aweigh Straight Set 3

I also set the Anchors Aweigh block on point:

Anchors Aweigh On Point Set

Again, I’m not impressed, but how do I know unless I try it?

I like the next setting.  By the way, I’m not introducing any alternate blocks, other than the plain block.  All of the designs are created with simple rotations of the Anchors Aweigh blocks.

Anchors Aweigh On Point Set 2

Looks like chain link:

Anchors Aweigh On Point Set 3

More rotation using the on point layout:

Anchors Aweigh On Point Set 4

Civil War looking colors not your thing?  Let’s freshen and simplify this design up!

Anchors Aweigh On Point Set 5

The next design could be a really cute baby quilt!  Imagine all the fun quilting that could be added!

Anchors Aweigh On Point Set 6

Back to a more traditional look:

Anchors Aweigh On Point Set 7

Keep on rotating:

Anchors Aweigh On Point Set 8

Same as above, but I created more contrast and space (and I like it better):

Anchors Aweigh On Point Set 9

Have fun with your designing!  Don’t stop with the first design you create.  It might be your favorite, but you won’t know until you play with it!

4 responses to “Anchors Aweigh Quilt Block

  1. Laura,
    Not a block I would have chosen, except maybe for the name. (I spent four years in a navy uniform, which was white in summer.) What you have done with it shows just how many quilt designs are waiting to be found!
    I wasn’t impressed with the straight setting, or the first on point … every other design is great, and I am having trouble picking a favourite!
    Judy B

    • My uncle and a brother-in-law served in the navy, and my son-in-law is currently serving in the Coast Guard…I know about those whites! And I appreciate your service to your country!
      I have lots more designs made from this block that I didn’t show here…all made with rotation. I’ll revisit this block someday, and play with some alternate blocks. I was very surprised how impressive such an unimpressive block turned out to be!

I love hearing from you!

