Washington State Quilters 2014 Raffle Quilt Block

I am a long time member of WSQ (Washington State Quilters-Spokane Chapter).  However, I live two hours away from the big city, so it is difficult for me to be a contributing member.

One way I can contribute to WSQ is by participating in the raffle quilt.  Each year I sew up a block (for the 2013 raffle quilt I made three blocks) for the fund raiser. 

Here’s one from 2008 (made in 2008; raffled in 2009).  The carousel theme was inspired by the Looff Carousel, built in 1909, in Spokane, Washington, by Charles Looff. 

WSQ 2008 Quilt Block

You can see a photo of the quilt here.   I wish it was bigger for you, but it is all I could find.

I found my inspiration from a children’s coloring book page.  The elephant is needleturn applique with a little bit of paint, beads, and embroidery embellishment. 

The next block is also needleturn applique.  The coneflower is appliqued onto a pieced log cabin block.

WSQ 2010 Quilt Block

It is in the center of the 2010 WSQ raffle quilt:

WSQ 2010 Raffle Quilt

You can find the pattern for the coneflower under the Patterns and Tutorials tab above my header.  The pattern does not come with instructions, but if you already know how to applique, then you will have no problems with the coneflower.  Nor does it have to be done with the needleturn method, as I did.

The theme for the next raffle quilt was solid brights.  I made my block in 2011, and the WSQ quilt was raffled in 2012.

WSQ 2011 Quilt Block

I drew the block with the help of my Electric Quilt software, and the block is made with fabrics that I hand-dyed.  It is machine appliqued.

You can see the 2012 quilt here.

That’s enough of the past.  Now I am working on my contribution for next year’s raffle quilt.  Again, I am using my Electric Quilt software to design the block.  It must be on point.

WSQ 2014 Quilt Block

And it must be red and white.

WSQ 2014 Quilt Block

I am using freezer paper templates.  I love freezer paper!  Sometimes I use it on the ‘wrong’ side of the fabric, and sometimes I use it on the top to help me shape, and needleturn the pieces.  None of the pieces in the above photo are stitched down.  All of them have freezer paper, but you don’t see that because of where I am using it.  Yes, I do remove the paper from all of the shapes when I don’t need it anymore.

I love to use WonderFil Invisifil for my hand applique work.  It is so fine, yet strong.  It melts into the background.

WonderFil Invisafil Christmas RedThe block is all stitched.  At this point, I am deciding whether I want to embellish or not.  If I don’t embellish this block, I may make another one, just for me, and certainly add embroidery to it.

WSQ 2014 Quilt Block

I used that gorgeous red thread even to stitch down the bird’s white head.  You don’t see it!

WSQ 2014 Quilt Block

I believe that if you are a member of a quilt guild, then you should be participating in a way that you are able.  In other words, be a giver, not just a taker.  The benefits are wonderful, but it is volunteers that make those benefits happen.  Many hands make light work.  And it is more fun too.

7 responses to “Washington State Quilters 2014 Raffle Quilt Block

  1. Beautiful!

  2. What a gorgeous bird!

  3. Pingback: Washington State Quilters 2014 Raffle Quilt Block | LC's Cottage

I love hearing from you!

