Airplane Quilt Block

I have been practicing my drawing and designing skills using Electric Quilt and Nancy Martin’s calendar for my tools and inspiration. Nancy Martin CalendarLooking back, I can see lots of personal growth.

However, the Airplane block was a bit of a drawing challenge for me.  It is not done with an obvious grid.

Airplane Quilt Block

But I conquered! 

In fact, as I sit here, writing, and looking at the block, I realize that I may have drawn this the hard way.  Those bright yellow squares are now jumping out at me, and they would make an obvious grid to use as a starting off point.  Something I did not do (Why didn’t I see that when I was drawing?!).  LOL!

I started out with the EasyDraw worktable.  Mistake!  If you want to practice this block, choose the EasyDraw + PatchDraw worktable.  You’ll need the PatchDraw to draw the propeller.  If you forget, and use the EasyDraw worktable, like I did, you will need to copy your block and paste it to the EasyDraw + PatchDraw worktable. 

Thank you, Electric Quilt Genies, for making it possible to copy and paste entire blocks for folks like me!  I really didn’t want to have to redraw the whole thing!

And here is the quilt design that I came up with:

Airplane Quilt

All of the blocks can be found in Electric Quilt’s block library.  How cool is that?!

11 responses to “Airplane Quilt Block

  1. I LOVE Nate’s quilt. I’ve been a fanatic at easydraw for a few years. I, too, collect and draw blocks……..just to draw blocks. Will you be making this quilt?

    • Kat, this is such a sweet quilt. It really ought to be made, but my to-do list is overflowing. Drawing blocks is good practice, and will increase our skills, both at drawing and designing.

  2. Bert in Rice, WA

    Nice! I love playing around with EQ. I’ve designed many quilts with no intention of making them; it’s more like a substitute for solitaire, LOL.

    I’ve become pretty analytical about block construction since using EQ. There have been times when I could see a much better way to make something than the original designer showed.

    • Bert, now I know what to tell gamers! EQ is my solitaire. LOL!

      EQ has been absolutely wonderful for me (addictive)! I’ve come a long way in analyzing blocks, quilt design and quilt construction. I practice a lot (I game a lot)! Ha, ha! I have much more to learn…applique, for instance. I’m not so good at that, but haven’t practiced it near as much as pieced construction.

  3. Sooooooo CUTE!

  4. I just LOVE that!!! 🙂

I love hearing from you!

