Douglas Falls

Think of your life as a waterfall; it may come crashing down at some point, it may have it’s ups and downs, but in the end, it will continue to flow.

– Unknown

I am one of those daughters blessed with a Mom to be proud of.  I was fortunate to have her spend a few days with me last week.

One beautiful morning, I drove her to Douglas Falls, about a 15 minute drive from my house. 

Douglas Falls Sign

If you click on the following photo, you will see a young couple enjoying the waterfall.  They give you some perspective of the height of the fall.

Douglas Falls

I’ve been here many times, and I told Mom that the hike down is not too difficult.

To her credit, she believed me.

I should visit the park more often.  I did not realize just how deteriorated and steep the trail had become.

Many times I told her, “This is the steepest part; it’ll be better after this.” 

Ahem.

To my credit, I offered to turn back.

To her credit, she said she wanted to keep hiking.

We made it down to the foot bridge, and enjoyed watching Mill Creek flow by.

Mill Creek

I forgot to take a photo of the bridge.  No doubt because I was relieved that we made it there without ending up at the bottom of the trail by sliding on our butts all the way down.

I did, however, take an impressive photo of the creek flowing under the bridge:

Foot Bridge

I did not have the presence of mind to snap a photo of Mom either.  She wouldn’t have appreciated it anyway.  This was an impulsive little jaunt on my part.  She had curlers in her hair, and no scarf.   But the only people in the park on this morning, were the sweet lovebirds at the top of the waterfall.  We did meet them on the trail and chewed watercress together.

We enjoyed many wildflowers along the hike.

Violet

Star Flowered False Solomon Seal

When we hiked to the bottom of Douglas Falls, the view looked like this:

Douglas Falls 2

Douglas Falls 3

The view from the top of the waterfall.  Yup, we hiked all the way around the waterfall.

Douglas Falls 4

Mill Creek before coming to the falls:

Mill Creek 2

Lungwort

Mill Creek just before entering the park.  Who would think that this serene creek would shortly fall 60 feet?

Mill Creek 3

Now go back up to the first photo of Douglas Falls and remind yourself that Mom hiked full circle around the falls.

Mom has arthritis in her feet, sometimes making it painful to walk.

Mom is 81 years young.

What keeps you from enjoying God’s gifts?

I love you Mom!  Thank you for your love of life!

Clicking on a photo will show an enlarged image.

2 responses to “Douglas Falls

  1. Very nice post!

I love hearing from you!

