Wedding Ring Quilt Block

This week, I am playing with the Wedding Ring quilt block, found in the perpetual calendar, 365 Quilt Blocks a Year by Nancy Martin.

On the left, a traditional blue and white block is pictured.  On the right, a more dramatic color scheme is shown.

Wedding Ring is drafted from a 5 x 5 grid.

Here is how the traditional colored block looks in a straight set:

Wedding Ring Straight Set

And again, with sashing strips added:

Wedding Ring Straight Set 2

The two-color quilt is soft and pretty, but what happens when we’re feeling dramatic?

Wedding Ring Straight Set 3

I created alternate blocks by eliminating a few lines from the Wedding Ring quilt block.

Wedding Ring Straight Set 4

Soft and pretty Wedding Ring set on point:

Wedding Ring On Point Set

And again, set on point with alternate blocks created by simply eliminating lines from the Wedding Ring quilt block:

Wedding Ring On Point Set 2

The next three variations are for the drama queen in all of us:

Wedding Ring On Point Set 3

Wedding Ring On Point Set 4

Wedding Ring On Point Set 5

I think my favorite is #6, but I’m fickle…I could change my mind, as I often do, when I try different settings, color schemes, and blocks.  Fortunately, Electric Quilt makes quilt designing easy and fun.

Which is your favorite?

5 responses to “Wedding Ring Quilt Block

  1. I like the first bright one, I guess that is number 3. Very dramatic.

  2. Me, I like being a drama queen … I would mix the first two by using the corners in the first around the centre of the second … but not sure that it would be better than the last … pure drama!

  3. Pingback: Timeless Wedding Ring Quilt Blo | Your Wedding RingS

I love hearing from you!

