Vermont Quilt Block

I played with the Vermont quilt block this week. 

The block is drawn with an 8 x 8 grid.

The block on the left is the way the block is colored in Nancy Martin’s Perpetual Calendar, 365 Quilts A Year.  The block on the right is my colored variation.

For comparison, I’ve put both variations in a straight set. 

There is no right or wrong; it is simply a matter of personal preference, or the look one wants.  Using two or three colors is common in many wonderful traditional quilts.

The next three designs are also straight settings, but the Vermont quilt block has been altered to create an alternate block to use with the original.  The Snowball quilt block is also used.

Vermont Straight Set 3

Vermont Straight Set 4

Vermont Straight Set 5

The Vermont quilt block set on point:

Vermont On Point Set

And three more on point designs using the Vermont block, a couple of variations, and the Snowball block:

Vermont On Point Set 2

Vermont On Point Set 3

Vermont On Point Set 4

Which do you like the best?

Not every design is a winner.  I certainly don’t like all the virtual quilts that I’ve designed.  That’s not the point.  The point is to play; to learn what works and what doesn’t.  Enjoy the process, and maybe make a real quilt once in a while.

6 responses to “Vermont Quilt Block

  1. I like the last one the best. I always enjoy your show of experiments. It’s hard to get out of EQ, isn’t it?

  2. Thanks Kat! I don’t know which is my favorite. And yes, it is hard to get out of playing in EQ. It is as addictive as my Hubby’s online gaming is for him. Ha, ha!

  3. This marks me want to upload my EQ and play. I love all projects you play with. You are still the most accomplished home machine quilter I know I often ask how would Laura quilt this?

    • Definitely play with EQ…you can learn alot and have fun at the same time. Thank you so much for the compliments Denise! I am humbled. There are many, many more very accomplished quilters than I.

  4. Oh, I don’t know – I love them all!!!

I love hearing from you!

