Plaid Quilt Block

Plaid, a block found in the perpetual calendar, 365 Quilt Blocks a Year by Nancy Martin, is drafted from a 5 x 5 grid.

Plaid Quilt Block

It can also be found as #1827 in BlockBase.

Plaid looks like this when set side-by-side (a straight set):

Plaid Straight Set

I like it better with sashing and cornerstones.  Some of the blocks have been rotated:

Plaid Straight Set 2

Small changes in color placement:

Plaid Quilt Block 2

And the Plaid quilt block placed on point:

Plaid On Point Set

Sashing and cornerstones added:

Plaid On Point Set 2

Another color shift on the Plaid block in the center of the quilt, plus the addition of an alternate block and a plain block:

Plaid On Point Set 3

If I were to make the above quilt, I might redraw the alternate crossing block so that the seams match the Plaid block.

I thought I was gonna be bored with this block.  Turns out that I was wrong!  There are more Plaid designs to play with in my Electric Quilt file.

6 responses to “Plaid Quilt Block

  1. This is a great post. thanks for the inspiration!

  2. What wonderful ideas! I, too, really like the slashing and cornerstone versions. They really “pop”. Thanks for showing us these. 🙂

  3. Not a very impressive block …. until the sashing separates them! Love the second one.

I love hearing from you!

