Painted Pictorial Quilts

For the first time, and over a year ago, I signed up for a class at Craftsy

I thought I would begin the class when I had the time.

Silly me.  I am old enough to know that there is never any time, but the now.  Right now.

So I have begun, and I am enjoying the class very much.  Thank goodness Craftsy classes do not expire!  This is turning out to be a very good experience!

The class, Painted Pictorial Quilts, is taught by Annette Kennedy.  Annette is a photographer, pattern maker, fiber artist, painter, traveler and teacher.

This is the calla lily sampler that I am learning to paint with.  I am using Pebeo Setacolor transparent paints.  The background and lily fabrics are my own hand-dyed fabrics.  The stem and leaf fabrics are commercial batiks.

IMG_5080b

This is the sample after I have painted it.

IMG_5107c

I must say, I am pretty pleased with myself!

17 responses to “Painted Pictorial Quilts

  1. That looks fantastic. I ave been considering a class and your words are encouraging.

  2. LOVELY!!
    Love Craftsy clASSES – CURRENTLY IN FEW OF THEM MYSELF…NOW i JUST NEED MORE HOURS IN THE DAY! 🙂

  3. You are pleased with yourself? I am blown away! Spectacular!

  4. I love the craftsy classes and have signed up to 4, it is great because you can return again and again to them and cheaper than books and the shipping to New Zealand. I love what you are doing with the calla lily.

  5. What you have done here is lovely Laura! I am a HUGE Craftsy fan also.

  6. You should be pleased with yourself … you have done well!

  7. Wow! That’s incredible Mom! Beautiful!

  8. Wow Laura that is awesome! I loved it before you painted it! but then I loved it more. I definitely would like to take this class. Thanks for the post!!!

  9. Pingback: Painted Pictorial Quilts Part 2 |

I love hearing from you!

