Be Mine – Finished

YES!

I stayed the course; I stayed focused and it is finished!

IMG_4965b

IMG_4972

This was a very good project for me to sew to learn how to use the new sewing machine.  I only had one temper tantrum.

I wanted to stitch the binding on completely by machine (a first for me…I always hand stitch it to the back), and I was looking for the mirror image of a blind hem stitch, or something similar.

I had trouble mirror imaging any stitch, let alone a blind hem stitch (which cannot be done on this machine).  Thus…major meltdown.  Ha, ha!

But I persevered and I know this machine much better now.  Our relationship is improving…so much so, that I just may give her a name soon.  My beloved Bernina’s name is Bertha (for those inquiring minds).

Thank you to the Janome Yahoo Group and their files!

Also, for those inquiring minds, this wall hanging was sewn, and quilted, with Wonderfil Invisifil and Aurifil 50 weight.

Happy Valentine’s Day!

Part 1
Part 2
Part 3
Part 4
 
 Update:  Pattern designed by Cynthia Tomaszewski and published in ‘Tea in the Garden – Quilts for a Summer Afternoon’ by Martingale.

14 responses to “Be Mine – Finished

  1. How did you finish the binding by machine? I have been trying this but have not quite got it neat yet.

  2. Aha! I didn’t know there was a Janome Yahoo group – will have to check that out!
    There is a blind hem stitch on your machine, right? On a small quilt, couldn’t you just turn the quilt around so the edge is facing left and accomplish the same thing? Or is my brain being spatially dyslexic again? I’m thinking back to my first machine applique and think I had to turn the whole thing around and ‘wing it’ on a couple of the pieces due to placement or a particular angle or corner.

    • Yes, there is a blind hem on my machine. And I could turn the quilt around, but it isn’t so easy to work with in that position. Also, the blind hem is not adjustable on this machine. No matter, I’m learning new ways of doing things!

  3. P.S. Your little quilt is very lovely! Great job!

  4. My old Montgomery Wards machine’s name is Bessie!

    XOXO

  5. Whoo hoo! You did it! 🙂 Love ya!

  6. Beautiful! Makes me want to use my ‘big’ machine more!

  7. Lovely!
    (What else can I say about a heart quilt?)
    It would be nice if my Bernie could meet your Bertha sometime! Perhaps thay can be facebook friends!

I love hearing from you!

