Leavenworth Nine Patch Quilt Block – Part 2

Last week, I showed the Leavenworth Nine Patch quilt block in a straight set.

Leavenworth Nine Patch

Nancy Martin’s Version

Leavenworth Nine Patch BB

BlockBase 2280c

This week, we’ll look at a few on point set designs.

Clicking on any of the photos will show a larger view.

The following shows the Nancy Martin version set on point.

Leavenworth Nine Patch NM On Point

To make it more interesting, we can rotate some of the blocks.

Leavenworth Nine Patch NM On Point Rotated

Or we can add sashing and cornerstones.  We could rotate and add sashing (which is probably more interesting), but this design just adds sashing and cornerstones.

Leavenworth Nine Patch NM On Point with Sashing

Next is the BlockBase version of the Leavenworth Nine Patch block (no sashing; just the block).

Leavenworth Nine Patch BB On Point

The only difference between the above design and the following design is the substitution of a plain block.  Amazing!  

Leavenworth Nine Patch BB On Point 2

Let’s add an alternate block and see what we get.

Leavenworth Nine Patch Alternate

I’m suddenly thinking about argyle socks!

Leavenworth Nine Patch BB On Point with Alternate Block

Not a fan of red, black and white?  That’s okay.  You can use any colors you want.  In fact, just reversing two of these colors will create a dramatic difference.

Leavenworth Nine Patch BB On Point with Alternate Block 2

I like this one the best!  What about you?

7 responses to “Leavenworth Nine Patch Quilt Block – Part 2

  1. Hi Laura,
    Very interesting, I am not so sure about the socks though. Would be complicated to knit, have you sewn them?
    Gordon (Steppen)

    • I don’t knit, and haven’t sewn argyle socks either. I admire them. Or do you mean have I created the quilts? Only virtually. I’ll never live long enough to create all the virtual quilts that I’ve had the fun of designing with Electric Quilts assistance. LOL!

  2. I love the variations of the Leavenworth Nine Patch you created. I have EQ but have not taken the time to learn it well enough to fully appreciate its capabilities.

    • One block at a time, Charlsey. That’s how I learn it. I need to work my way through the lessons that came with EQ7…that’s on my to-do list this year. Another way to practice is to try to recreate a quilt from a magazine in EQ…just to gain experience and confidence with the program. When that is accomplished, start altering and playing with the design.

  3. The Argyle socks is the winner! Could perhaps be broken down to make in interesting mystery quilt.

I love hearing from you!

