Free Motion Quilt Project – December

The December Free Motion Quilt Challenge at SewCalGal is a tutorial from the wonderful designer and teacher, Patsy ThompsonPatsy is one of my favorite quilt artists, so I was delighted when I found out that she was the guest for this month!

Patsy shared excellent tips for border designing and quilting.  So I got out my high tech practice notebook and went to work.

IMG_4523

IMG_4521

I sewed some hand-dyed fabric together, pin basted a quilt sandwich, and, using 100 weight Wonderfil Invisfil, stabilized my sandwich.

And this is where this month’s challenge became a double challenge.  My beloved Bernina (we’ve been together about 25 years) just couldn’t manage a simple straight stitch.  I knew she had troubles…she’d been to the doctor once already (he turned out to be a quack…but that’s another story).   I’d been wanting another sewing machine, but had been putting it off. 

Is it strange to say that I feel guilty sewing with a new Janome, while my Bernina sits on the floor in despair?  (I do hope to find a trustworthy doctor who can perform mechanical miracles.)

IMG_4590

Miss Janome and I have been cramming time getting to know one another.  Christmas is coming so we finally had to say to each other, “Let’s do this!”

So, with lowered feed dogs, and 50 weight Aurifil, we did alot of free motion quilting…Patsy style (or at least our best imitation for where we are in life).

Here’s a couple of close-ups:

IMG_4594

IMG_4617

I wouldn’t make such large pebbles on this size quilt in the future…don’t like the look of that, but I thoroughly enjoyed making feathers with a flexi-curve ruler.  I’ve had that ruler for years, yet never realized it’s potential.  Thank you Patsy!

Here’s the back (difficult to see unless you click on the photo for a closer look):

IMG_4599

And here’s the front:

IMG_4611

I have yet to sew with Miss Janome and have the feed dogs up.  I’ll be doing that when I put on the binding.

18 responses to “Free Motion Quilt Project – December

  1. Laura, this is gorgeous! Everything from the eye-popping colors radiating out to the feathers, and your central design is really neat too. Looks like you and Miss Janome have bonded beautifully! Happy Holidays!

  2. Great job Laura! What is the size of your quilt? Your feathers are so perfect. I am going to have to check out that post!

  3. Beautiful quilt. Thanks for including your tip on using the writing tablet. Never would have thought of that.

  4. Wow Laura-beautiful!! Love your high tech “tablet”, grin. And you shouldn’t worry-Miss Bernina surely has played in the Big Girl Sandbox and she can share with Miss Janome! Lucky you to have two great machine to fmq with.

    • Jenny…Miss Bernina has been awesome! And I know her well, so I have great confidence when we sew together. I really do hope she can be repaired. Meanwhile, I am indeed blessed to welcome Miss Janome into the studio. We are building confidence together.

  5. Beautiful sewing – I know how you feel about your Miss Bernina – I am missing mine at the moment too, though I am fortunate to have an older one here. Merry Christmas to you too….

  6. I like the echoing of the feathers with the curved ruler – I’m going to have to try that! Thanks for the inspiration!

  7. Pingback: Free Motion Quilt Challenge Summary |

  8. Muy bonito. Se ve estupendo.

  9. Pingback: Initial Pillow No. 2 | LC's Cottage

I love hearing from you!

