Fudgy Toffee Bars

Hubby and I are attending a family party this weekend, and I thought I would share one of the recipes that I’m bringing.  It is one of my family’s favorites.  I didn’t create the recipe; I found it in a magazine years ago.

Enjoy!

IMG_4527b

Fudgy Toffee Bars

1-3/4 cups flour
¾ cup confectioners’ sugar
¼ cup baking cocoa
¾ cup cold butter
1 can (14 ounces) sweetened condensed milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 cups (12 ounces) semisweet chocolate chips, divided
1 cup coarsely chopped walnuts
½ cup flaked coconut
½ cup English toffee bits or almond brickle chips

In a bowl, combine flour, sugar and cocoa.  Cut in butter until mixture resembles coarse crumbs.  Press firmly into a greased 13” x  9” x 2” baking pan.  Bake at 350º for 10 minutes. 

Meanwhile, in a saucepan, heat milk, vanilla and 1 cup of chocolate chips, stirring until smooth. 

Pour over the crust.  Sprinkle with nuts, coconut, toffee bits and remaining chocolate chips; press down firmly.  Bake for 18-20 minutes.

Yield: 3 dozen

4 responses to “Fudgy Toffee Bars

  1. I’m one of the family that’s going to ENJOY these this weekend!! Yum yum! Can’t wait!

  2. They sound sooooo good! You are evil to tempt me….

I love hearing from you!

