Fireflies Quilt Block

For this week’s quilt block, I’ve chosen to show Fireflies.  It is based upon a 4 x 4 grid.

Fireflies

Clicking on any of the photos will show a larger view.

Here is the what the Fireflies quilt block looks like in a basic straight set with borders.

Fireflies Straight Set

I think it is very unappealing.  But what if I rotated some blocks?

Fireflies Straight Set 2

I like that much better!

Add some sashing and cornerstones perhaps.  It does make it easier to see which blocks were rotated.

Fireflies Straight Set 3

And what does the Fireflies block look like when paired with an alternate block?

Fireflies Straight Set 4

I like that even better!

The next setting is the Fireflies quilt block set on point.  It isn’t as unappealing as setting the blocks side-by-side in a straight set.

Fireflies On Point Set 4

Setting triangles give the eye a place to rest.

Fireflies On Point Set 3

And again, rotated and set with sashing, but still in an on point setting.

Fireflies On Point Set

When you are intriqued with a quilt block, take the time to visualize it in a variety of settings and with alternate blocks.

Play with value and color too.  You may come up with exciting surprises!

For the record…I am not a pink and blue gal.  I wouldn’t make any of these designs in the above colorway.  But if I keep experimenting, I may come up with something that I really like.

4 responses to “Fireflies Quilt Block

  1. Very nice! I like the one that looks like a start the best.

  2. I like the one withthe pinwheel center.

I love hearing from you!

