Guest Blogger at Wishack

I was honored to be a guest blogger at Wishack Online today.  Because I wrote such a long post, it was necessary to be edited.  Here it is in full if you like:

“My name is Laura and I am flattered to be a guest at wishack.  I am a wife, Mom, grandma, church treasurer, have a job outside the home, and have a small online fabric shop.  I live on six acres with a variety of fruit trees, a vegetable garden and floral gardens.  Although I enjoy a variety of crafts, my main interest is in quilting.  In other words, like most everyone else, I’m busy.  So how do I find the time to create, especially during the holiday season?

There are a lot of excellent time management tips in blogland, so I’m not going to lay out a program here.  But I will share a few things that work for me. 

One of the absolute best things I have done (and having a supportive Hubby helps me) was to create a space just for me.  I’m blessed to have an entire dedicated room and you can see my studio makeover here

It doesn’t have to be a room; it can be a closet, or a corner of a room.  The point is to have a place that reflects your personality and makes you feel creative.  It makes you happy to be here.  The world, along with the stresses, is outside.  Play your favorite music, or enjoy the silence.  This is your space to put you in the right frame of mind to relax, be yourself, and do what you love to do.  Knit, make a doll, paint a watercolor portrait, make a piñata, scrapbook, embroider a tea towel, sew a pillow, or whatever it is that makes you sing.

Planning ahead can be a good thing.  Especially if you have a large gift list, and you really want to give something made by your own hands.  Ahem.  I’m not so good at planning ahead.  I used to be, but that ability seemed to follow my children right out the door when they grew up and left home.  However, there are things I do throughout the year that come in handy for a quick gift.  For instance, I mentioned that I’m a gardener, and I have fruit trees.  I can my harvest. During the holiday season, it is no stress at all to go to the pantry, grab some homemade jellies and jams, spruce up the jar with a ribbon, and give as a gift.  Perhaps if you look around at what you do, you too, have some quick, easy and very welcome gifts already finished and ready to give.

If not, there is Pinterest

I have discovered the joy of pinning.  Goodness, there a lot of free tutorials on just about anything!  If you are a grandma, make a board for every grandchild and pin gift-giving ideas to each board.  Perhaps your grandson could use some pillowcases.  There are lots of free tutorials for making pillowcases, and these can be made very quickly.  I don’t have a board for each grandchild because I just thought of it while writing this article.  I do have boards for sewing ideas and quilting ideas and canning ideas…well…you get the idea. 

I would suggest keeping your handmade projects simple.  There is a lot of stress at holiday time, so why add to it?  There are many projects that are simple and still gift-giving worthy.  I found one online recently.  Spray paint pebbles; put the pebbles into a clear bowl and add an orange candle.  This makes a very nice Halloween centerpiece, and can be adapted to any home décor just by changing the color of the spray paint and the candle.

We tend to waste minutes on our computers, or texting, or on the couch watching tv.  Make the most of the time you have.  Only have 15 minutes?  Several seams can be sewn in 15 minutes.  A little here, and a little there, and you are soon finished.   I need to make a choice.  Do I want to spend my 15 minutes on facebook, or do I want to spend it in my happy zone?  How do you want to spend your minutes?”

 

 

 

6 responses to “Guest Blogger at Wishack

  1. A good clean workspace inspires me to go mess it up! LOL!!!

  2. Amazing post, Laura! Thank you for all the great tips!!! 🙂

  3. I agree with Joe … though making the first little bit of mess is hard if I have just spent a day tiding!

I love hearing from you!

