Ironing Board Cover

I have been meaning to make a new ironing board cover for a long time, and there is nothing like a fresh new sewing studio with an ugly covered board to motivate me!

The old cover was well used but never fit the board properly.

So off with the old and on with the new!

I traced around my pad (not the cruddy cover that never fit properly) and gave myself a generous seam allowance…about 3 inches all around.

Pressed and sewed a 1/4 inch hem all around.

Pressed and sewed about a 1/2 inch hem, leaving an opening for cording.  In my case, I’m using soft clothesline.  I want it firm enough to draw up the cover, but not so stiff that it is difficult to tie.

Now I’m a happy camper!

And the old cover?  I cut the elastic cording from the edges so it will lie flat.  I will use it for messy projects…like heat setting paint or fusibles.

8 responses to “Ironing Board Cover

  1. I LOVE that!!! I covered mine in zebra print a few months ago and now I don’t have to hide it when I’m not using it!!! And your room . . . well, I love that, too!!! 🙂

  2. Wanna do mine now? ;p You make it sound simple.

  3. Great idea and project! You’ll enjoy that perky print in the middle of winter!

  4. I agree Jenny…winter seems very long and grey around here.

I love hearing from you!

