Coronation Quilt Block

One of the things that I love about Electric Quilt, is the quick and easy way to visualize what a block will look like in a quilt setting.

Today, we are looking at the Coronation block from Nancy Martin’s Perpetual Calendar.

Coronation is drafted from an 8 x 8 grid.

Here it is presented in a simple straight set (blocks set square…side by side) with borders:

Coronation Straight Set

And with some plain blocks added:

Coronation Straight Set 2

Those plain blocks open up areas for applique, and to show off quilting.  Plain blocks can also alter a design in very pleasing and unexpected ways.

Here is what Coronation looks like in a simple on point set with borders:

Coronation Straight On Point Set

I generally find blocks set side-by-side to be very busy designs.  I think most blocks really need to be set with an alternate block, whether it be plain or another block.

Here’s the on point setting with some plain blocks added:

Coronation Straight On Point Set 2

I’d like to see this design in red, gold, green and white…I’m seeing Christmas with these stars!

If you have BlockBase, you can play with a variation of the Coronation quilt block.

It is number 4185 and is drafted with a 10 x 10 grid.

Just to visualize, I have alternated both Coronation quilt blocks in a straight set followed by an on point setting.

Coronation Straight Set 3

Coronation Straight On Point Set 3

So go ahead and have fun!  Try on different borders, change the color and value, rotate the blocks, and try different block combinati0ns. 

6 responses to “Coronation Quilt Block

  1. Love watching what other people can do with a block in EQ!
    I like the ones with plain blocks in them, and prefer the on point settings.
    Judy B

  2. I’ve found you by way of Sew Many Ways and her Find a Friend Friday. I just love this block and the many variations you’ve shown. I have never used EQ, but it sure looks like fun! Thanks for sharing!

    • Nice to meet you Jayne! EQ makes quilt designing easy, but since you are a quilter you already know that.

      I took a peek at your blog, and I love this from your header, “While I love the satisfaction of finishing a quilt, it isn’t the only way to have fun with quilting. Fun also comes from the great outings with girlfriends, shopping expeditions with Grandma, or just sitting in my “thoughtful spot” chair perusing magazines and books. The thrill of the next project waiting just there on the horizon… ” I couldn’t agree more!

      I’m glad you found the Coronation block inspiring!

I love hearing from you!

