Free Motion Quilt Challenge – September

The September Free Motion Quilt Challenge at SewCalGal is a tutorial from the guest expert, Paula Reid.   I feel a bit of an affinity for Paula since she lives in Palmdale, CA.  Hubby and I have family living in this area, and we both graduated from Antelope Valley High School in Lancaster, CA.

Paula’s tutorial has us practicing our free motion quilting with a stencil.  I drew the design onto my fabric with a blue marker and the use of a light table.

I used a 12 weight Aurifil to quilt the stencil.  I needed a larger needle and couldn’t find a Schmetz denim sharp (my needle of choice) in the size I wanted.  So…I used a Schmetz leather 100/18.  I know!  But I was desperate!

I could hear Tim Gunn, “Make it work!”

I think this might look nicer if the the thread colors were reversed, but, in any case, this will make a lovely pillow someday.

12 responses to “Free Motion Quilt Challenge – September

  1. Your heavy thread and leather needle really defined your beautiful stitching. So even and precise. This is a beautiful sample!

  2. Lovely! This challenge would be good for me to learn how to do that feather. You quilting looks amazing! And so controlled!!!!
    Thanks for sharing..

  3. Really pretty-the best I’ve seen this month!

  4. Beautiful quilting and love the stippling around the feathers!

  5. Ooooo – very NICE! Great job, Laura.

  6. Pingback: Free Motion Quilt Challenge Summary |

I love hearing from you!

