Widow’s Mite – Part 4

I haven’t been able to go fabric shopping for background fabric; I hope to do that this weekend.  Meantime, the widow did acquire some hair.

I took a photo in grayscale just for fun.  What a pleasant surprise to see that I have a nice variety of values!  Value, along with design and technique, is vital to a successful quilt.

For the curious, The Widow’s Mite will be approximately 24″ x 36″.   Her size is determined by the space that she will be hanging in.

For fabulous fabric portraits, go to the extremely talented art quilter, Marilyn Belford.  You can see her gallery of award winning quilts here.  I promise you, you will be impressed with Marilyn’s body of work!  She teaches her techniques for realistic portraits, as well as other art quilt classes, at Quilt University.

Part 1 can be found here.
Part 2 can be found here.
Part 3 can be found here.

 

10 responses to “Widow’s Mite – Part 4

  1. WOW! This is just amazing!

  2. How Beautiful! I just love this piece. There is such a feeling of calm. Really love the hair/braid. Stunning!

    • Thank you so much! I’m still agonizing over the background behind the widow…may just go with what I’ve got and see what comes of it.

      I appreciate that you see calmness. That is why she is such a great role model for me…I’m anything but!

  3. Pingback: Widow’s Mite – Part 5 |

  4. Pingback: The Widow’s Mite – Part 6 |

  5. Pingback: The Widow’s Mite – Part 7 |

  6. Pingback: The Widow’s Mite – Part 8 |

  7. Pingback: The Widow’s Mite – Finished |

I love hearing from you!

