Orca Bay Mystery Quilt Part 8

It has been busy around here (mundane but necessary stuff), so I’m not accomplishing alot where sewing is concerned, but I am so happy I have completed the Orca Bay top!

The blocks that will become the pieced border:

Three borders sewn on:

I was going to stop with the white, pieced and black borders , but I thought it was too dark; that the top needs more color.

So I pieced an orange border:

And now the flimsy really is done.

It will be a while before Orca Bay gets quilted.  I’ve never used a long arm service before, but I am saving my pennies for this one.

If you’d like to see previous posts on my version of the Orca Bay mystery quilt, you can follow my progress (including an alternate layout I made using EQ7) by looking under Categories > Quilts in the side bar.

Or:

For Bonnie Hunter’s Orca Bay mystery quilt – Part 1, click here.
For Bonnie Hunter’s Orca Bay mystery quilt – Part 2, click here.    
For Bonnie Hunter’s Orca Bay mystery quilt – Part 3, click here.
For Bonnie Hunter’s Orca Bay mystery quilt – Part 4, click here.
For Bonnie Hunter’s Orca Bay mystery quilt – Part 5, click here.
For Bonnie Hunter’s Orca Bay mystery quilt – Part 6, click here.
For Bonnie Hunter’s Orca Bay mystery quilt – Part 7, click here.
15 responses to “Orca Bay Mystery Quilt Part 8

  1. Gorgeous! I like this quilt a lot! Beautiful work too.

  2. Love the orange border! Make sure you get a really good long armer as the quality can vary greatly. I always like to check at the shows to see who did the quilting. Of course you could wing it like me and have it take 2 years to figure it out! Hee hee!

    Great job! It looks so wonderful, makes me want one…bad!

    • I have lots of quilt friends and they have given me some good advice. It may take me 2 years to save enough pennies. LOL!

      The orange border is the icing on the cake.

      When you finish your pattern drafting, get started on the Orca Bay. :O)

  3. I love the orange border! Your OB is beautiful!!

  4. That orange makes it pop now!!!

  5. It is awesome! One of my favorites. Wish I had started it when everyone did but the holidays got in the way. Maybe Bonnie will do another mystery in the summer when there isn’t so much going on.

    • Thank you Jane. I almost didn’t do this mystery for the same reason you didn’t…those very busy holidays. I believe the pattern is still up on her website if you have a mind to print it out and save it for the summer.

  6. Ooh very nice!

  7. Pingback: The Widow’s Mite – Part 3 |

  8. Pingback: Orca Bay Quilt Back (Part 9) and What’s Next |

  9. Pingback: Orca Bay Mystery Quilt Part 10 |

I love hearing from you!

