Orca Bay Mystery Quilt Part 7

My progress is slow, but steady.  This week I am putting the blocks together and sewing them into a flimsy, also known as a quilt top.

The suggested method by Bonnie Hunter is to sew this design row by row.  I prefer to sew sections of blocks together, so I have sectioned my quilt pattern.  If you click on the photo below, you can see it close-up.  This quilt is seven rows across by eight rows down.

I need sixteen of these larger blocks:

And twenty-four of these:

I also need four of these blocks:

And three of these blocks:

I will fill in with nine white stars.

I’m pressing my seams open:

Here’s a section of blocks ready to sew:

The upper left quadrant is sewn (four across and four down):

The entire flimsy is sewn and pressed.  Hmmm…what’s up with that orange block?  Is it turned the wrong direction?  IT IS!

Close-up (missed that wayward block):

I’m pleased…my star points are not as chopped as I thought they were going to be!

On to the borders!

If you’d like to see previous posts on my version of the Orca Bay mystery quilt, you can follow my progress (including an alternate layout I made using EQ7) by looking under Categories > Quilts in the side bar.

Or:

For Bonnie Hunter’s Orca Bay mystery quilt – Part 1, click here.
For Bonnie Hunter’s Orca Bay mystery quilt – Part 2, click here.    
For Bonnie Hunter’s Orca Bay mystery quilt – Part 3, click here.
For Bonnie Hunter’s Orca Bay mystery quilt – Part 4, click here.
For Bonnie Hunter’s Orca Bay mystery quilt – Part 5, click here.
For Bonnie Hunter’s Orca Bay mystery quilt – Part 6, click here.
 

15 responses to “Orca Bay Mystery Quilt Part 7

  1. Great idea Laura and wonderful explanation. I do better with blocked sections too. My brain gets confused too easily with rows! Your quilt is beautiful.
    ~Jillian in North Dakota

    • Thank you Jillian. I know I find it easier to piece in sections; I try to do that whenever possible. You are right…it is easier for my brain too. :O)

  2. Your Orca Bay looks fantastic!! I like the way you put it together in sections!

  3. Thank you Deb! :O)

  4. Your colors are so well suited to each other and the pattern is very apparent. Good job!

  5. Lovely looking; a great joy for eyes!

  6. This is just how Shirley showed us on the chat group how to do it in Jan.
    it really speeds things up.

    Happy sewing

  7. Wow! Love the Orca Bay! Nice Job Laura!

    • Thank you. It was pointed out to me that there is not one, but two, out of place orange blocks. She’s right! LOL! I know what I’ll be doing later. :O)

  8. Pingback: WIP Wednesday – Orca Bay Mystery Quilt Part 8 |

  9. Pingback: Orca Bay Quilt Back (Part 9) and What’s Next |

  10. Pingback: Orca Bay Mystery Quilt Part 10 |

I love hearing from you!

