Caraway Seed Cake

“Let them eat cake.” – Marie Antoinette

I acquired a cookbook from an aunt recently.  It is a good read, but there are a few things I could do without.  For instance, I learned that it takes 10 cups of pig blood to make a black pudding.  Ugh! 

I did find a recipe for a caraway seed cake that looked rustic and delicious, so I tried it.

The ingredients are few and simple, and always in stock in my kitchen.

I only needed 1 tablespoon of ground almonds, so I just threw some slivers in a baggie and lightly pounded with the smooth side of the meat tenderizer.

Mix the ingredients and put the batter in a baking pan.  The recipe states a size, but I didn’t have it, so I put the batter in my 12 cup bundt pan.  Whoa!  That size is way too big!  Don’t do what I did!

Don't Use This Size Baking Pan!

Bake.  Don’t forget to set the timer!

Out of the oven and cooling.

Lookin’ good.  It would be much better if I took the time to garnish it.  Top it with a fruit sauce, or chocolate sauce.  Or serve with ice cream.

I had whipped topping, so that’s what I used.  And I needed it!  Since I baked it in the wrong size pan, my cake came out heavy and a bit dry.  It still tastes good, but the texture and taste will be better the next time I make it.

Caraway Seed Cake

12 tablespoons (1-1/2 sticks) butter
1 cup granulated sugar
3 eggs
2 cups flour
1 tablespoon ground almonds (optional)
1-1/2 tablespoons caraway seeds
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
Some caraway seeds to sprinkle on top
 
Line a round cake pan (7″ diameter x 3″ deep) with parchment paper.
 
Cream the butter; add the sugar and beat until very soft and light.  Beat the eggs and gradually beat into the creamed mixture.  Stir in the flour and ground almonds. 
 
Add the baking powder and the caraway seeds with the last of the flour.  Turn the mixture into the prepared cake pan, scatter a few more caraway seeds on top and bake in a preheated moderate oven, 350°F, for 50 to 60 minutes.
 
Cool on wire rack.
One response to “Caraway Seed Cake

  1. The taste is great! In fact its gone!

I love hearing from you!

