Orca Bay Mystery Quilt Part 4

For Bonnie Hunter’s Orca Bay mystery quilt – Part 1, click here.
For Bonnie Hunter’s Orca Bay mystery quilt – Part 2, click here.      
For Bonnie Hunter’s Orca Bay mystery quilt – Part 3, click here.
 

Part 2 was all about warm string blocks, so I’ve chosen to sew Part 4’s string blocks in cool blues.  No planning here; I’m mixing it up.  Confederate blue, teal, light blues, dark blues, some purple thrown there, floral prints, corn, Asian prints, hand-dyes, dots, whatever I have on hand. 

Will it all work together?  The controller in me says that the teal strip does not go well with blue-gray plaid strip.  I’m turning up the music so I can’t hear her.  ‘Que sera, sera…whatever will be will be….’

All pressed and lookin’ good.

Trimmed up.  Will they play nice?

It’s a mystery.  But I’m likin’ it!

19 responses to “Orca Bay Mystery Quilt Part 4

  1. Some awesome colors in there! Will be fun to see where it all goes!

  2. I’m a’liking it too! These are the most string blocks I’ve ever made at one time. It IS amazing how they all work out.
    ~Jillian in North Dakota

  3. Hello! Another orange player like me!

  4. VERY NICE COLORS ! bravo

  5. yes, they are playing nice together. Going to be stunning!

  6. Yes your blocks play nice! Hope I like my quilt when done, I’m using Bonnies colours was too scared to try anything different as this is my first mystery.

    • I’m positive that you will like your quilt, Leeann! You can’t go wrong following Bonnie. It is precisely because I did not follow Bonnie’s colors, that I’m worried about mine. LOL! Ah well! I want to learn to let go, to not be so controlled, and this is a great time to do it.

  7. I love your colors!!! Beautiful strings 🙂

  8. Pingback: WIP Wednesday – Orca Bay Mystery Quilt Part 5 |

  9. Pingback: Orca Bay Mystery – Part 6 |

  10. Pingback: WIP Wednesday – Orca Bay Mystery Quilt Part 7 |

  11. Pingback: WIP Wednesday – Orca Bay Mystery Quilt Part 8 |

  12. Pingback: Orca Bay Quilt Back (Part 9) and What’s Next |

  13. Pingback: Orca Bay Mystery Quilt Part 10 |

I love hearing from you!

