Orca Bay Mystery Quilt – Part 3

For Bonnie Hunter’s Orca Bay mystery quilt – Part 1, click here.
For Bonnie Hunter’s Orca Bay mystery quilt – Part 2, click here.                               

This isn’t WIP Wednesday, but I finished Part 3!  Yay!!!!

The clue?  Make 350 (1.5″ finished) half-squared triangles (HST).  Whoa!  That’s alot!  But, as mentioned in Part 2, Linda Franz and her Inklingo make this clue easy peasy to accomplish.

I am showing printing on both a light fabric and a muslin fabric just for comparison.  You can easily see the printing (on the wrong side of the fabric, by the way) on both of these fabrics.

I cut the fabric 8.5″ x 11″…the same as copy paper (only because my dinosaur printer doesn’t do custom sizes) and I still get little waste.  In fact, I get 30 HSTs per printing.  Cool!  This is a real timesaver!

Sew on the diagonal dash lines.

Cut apart on the solid lines.

Almost finished already!

Pressed open and trimmed!  YeeeHawww!  That was easy!

Cute little guys, aren’t they?

11 responses to “Orca Bay Mystery Quilt – Part 3

  1. Yes, I’m with you all the way, INKLINGO has made this so so simple and fast! Thank you for sharing your pictures, helped with using my old printer too. Happy Sewing, Patty/Az

  2. I don’t have an ink printer, only laser so I just use the paper and peel it off. I LOVE this technique tho. It is sooo soo fast and very easy to do! I can’t believe you are keeping up with the mystery…you are so much a better sewer than me! I am so slow! It is looking great and nice job1
    ~Cathy

    • No way am I a better sewer Cathy! And soon, I’ll be heading to Michigan to be with my daughter and her family. I won’t be doing any sewing then, and I will be way behind by the time I get back. Being slow has nothing to do with our sewing abilities. But I’ll accept the compliment anyway! :O)

  3. Pingback: WIP Wednesday – Orca Bay Mystery Quilt Part 4 |

  4. Pingback: WIP Wednesday – Orca Bay Mystery Quilt Part 5 |

  5. Pingback: WIP Wednesday – Orca Bay Mystery Quilt Part 7 |

  6. Pingback: WIP Wednesday – Orca Bay Mystery Quilt Part 8 |

  7. Pingback: Orca Bay Quilt Back (Part 9) and What’s Next |

  8. Pingback: Orca Bay Mystery Quilt Part 10 |

I love hearing from you!

