Orca Bay Mystery Quilt Part 2

For Bonnie Hunter’s Orca Bay mystery quilt – Part 1, click here.

Part 2 mystery instructions calls for piecing 72 string blocks. Strings?  In a nutshell, string piecing is taking cut fabric strips, or scraps, and piecing them together, using a stabilizer for backing.  The stabilizer can be used dryer sheets, muslin, newsprint, interfacing, etc….  In my case, I’m using old phone book pages.  I had all 72 paper squares prepared in a very short time by simply tearing with the edge of my ruler. 

No rotary cutter necessary.  Simply tear.

I was very indecisive about what color these scrappy string blocks ought to be.  Should I use orange (one of my very favorite colors)?  How about yellows?  Then I remembered that one of my goals for doing this mystery is to ‘lighten up’; be random.  So…how about I use a warm palette?  Then I can have it all.

A fabulous, feel good warm pile of unsquared string blocks!

Pressed and peeling paper!  Oh, the excitement of it all!  The paper practically falls off when a short stitch length is used.

And a closer look.  What a funny bonus!  I did not notice what this phone book page said until I was snapping this photo.  I’m doing my part to go green!

Four of the string blocks, pressed, squared to 3.5″, and peeled.

These little babies are sweet! 

12 responses to “Orca Bay Mystery Quilt Part 2

  1. Can’t wait to see what this is going to look like as a finished project!

  2. Can’t wait to see that finished. Looks great so far

  3. Pingback: Orca Bay Mystery Quilt – Part 3 |

  4. Pingback: WIP Wednesday – Orca Bay Mystery Quilt Part 4 |

  5. Pingback: WIP Wednesday – Orca Bay Mystery Quilt Part 5 |

  6. Pingback: Orca Bay Mystery – Part 6 |

  7. Pingback: WIP Wednesday – Orca Bay Mystery Quilt Part 7 |

  8. Pingback: WIP Wednesday – Orca Bay Mystery Quilt Part 8 |

  9. Pingback: Orca Bay Quilt Back (Part 9) and What’s Next |

  10. Pingback: Orca Bay Mystery Quilt Part 10 |

I love hearing from you!

