Orca Bay Mystery Quilt Part 1

I have joined an online mystery quilters group.  Like I needed another project, especially during holiday season.  I’m nuts!  But I’m having fun!  And the online group of quilters are fun to be with.  So what am I doing?  I dunno…it’s a mystery!  Here is what I can tell you:

It is my first mystery quilt.

I am generally a ‘controlled’ quilter.  I hope this mystery quilt helps me to be more random.  In other words, to loosen up and mix it up.

I am a fabric petter.  I buy it to gaze at it lovingly and stroke it gently.  Sheesh!  It is time to make good use of it!

Head on over to Bonnie Hunter’s Quiltville to join the Orca Bay mystery quilt.

Part 1…make 448 triangle pairs for 224 hourglass (2″ finished) blocks.  What! 448!?  2 inches!? Now is the time to get comfortable with Inklingo!  Linda Franz makes this a breeze!  In the photo above, you are looking at light fabric squares layered (right sides together) with dark fabric.  These are all printed and ready to sew.  The photo below is a closeup of a light fabric printed with red ink.  For most of my lights, I chose to print with a yellow ink.

In general, the process involves choosing a shape (in this case quarter square triangles, also known as QST) and ink color.  Cut fabric, iron it to freezer paper, and print.  It is that easy.  No measuring folks!  The math is done for you!  Linda Franz has been more than generous in offering a ton of information, how-to and ideas on her blog and Inklingo website.  Anytime you need help, just ask her.  She’s pretty friendly.

The above photo shows that the diagonal dash lines have been sewn.  How hard is that?  Just follow the lines!  The photo below shows some of the rotary cutting done.  Again, just follow the lines, only this time the lines are solid.

Inklingo is capable of custom sizes, so there is very little waste, if any.  However, I have a dinosaur printer that is incapable of custom sizes (but it prints well…I have no jamming issues).  No matter…I cut my fabric the same size as my copy paper (8-1/2 x 11) and printed anyway.  I had some waste, but it is worth it to me.  And I have extra QSTs.

Coming together.

I love these little guys!

 

13 responses to “Orca Bay Mystery Quilt Part 1

  1. Nice work on the Bonnie Hunter mystery! I can’t wait to see what it will look like. I’m not going to participate as I still have the Roll Roll cotton boll to finish! But they are sooo fun!

  2. Pingback: WIP Wednesday – Orca Bay Mystery Quilt Part 2 |

  3. Pingback: Orca Bay Mystery Quilt – Part 3 |

  4. Pingback: WIP Wednesday – Orca Bay Mystery Quilt Part 4 |

  5. Pingback: WIP Wednesday – Orca Bay Mystery Quilt Part 5 |

  6. Pingback: Orca Bay Mystery – Part 6 |

  7. Pingback: WIP Wednesday – Orca Bay Mystery Quilt Part 7 |

  8. Pingback: WIP Wednesday – Orca Bay Mystery Quilt Part 8 |

  9. Pingback: Orca Bay Quilt Back (Part 9) and What’s Next |

  10. Pingback: Orca Bay Mystery Quilt Part 10 |

I love hearing from you!

