Green Beans and Zucchini

The trouble is, you cannot grow just one zucchini. Minutes after you plant a single seed,

hundreds of zucchini will barge out of the ground and sprawl around the garden,

menacing the other vegetables. At night, you will be able to hear the ground quake

as more and more zucchinis erupt.

– Dave Barry

The garden has given me an abundance of green beans and zucchini.  So I’ve combined them for supper in a quick and easy summer stir-fry veggie dish (You could steam instead of stir-fry.).

Stir-fry, or saute, green beans and chopped onion in butter, or olive oil, in a skillet until semi-tender. 

I was out of onion, so I added dried minced onion.  Hmmm…I just remembered…I have lots of chives in the garden.  I should’ve used them!  I also added minced garlic.

Add zucchini and stir-fry, or saute, until desired tenderness.  I prefer firm, or slightly crunchy.  Add salt to taste.  Add herbs to taste.  I used thyme because Hubby really likes it.  However, basil, oregano, red pepper, etc., or any combination, will all work well.

Notice that the purple beans have lost their color during the cooking process.  There is no advantage of purple over green beans so far as appearance is concerned.  Also, do not wait until your zucchinis are monster size before harvesting.  The best tasting zucchini are the small ones!

Yummy!  Another variation is one my Hubby created…instead of green beans and zucchini, he sauteed transparent apples and zucchini.  Very tasty!

What is in abundance in your garden?

One response to “Green Beans and Zucchini

  1. Yup yours was excellent tasting… on mine you need to add a bit of seasoning salt and some dill weed to taste… Wonder what you will come up with next…

I love hearing from you!

