Apples to Sauce

Of course I have to follow up yesterday’s post with applesauce!  Applesauce is easy to make and there is no comparison to ‘store-bought’!

I use the yellow transparents, since I happen to have a couple hundred pounds of ’em.

I don’t peel my apples, but you can.  I find no need of it and the extra fiber and vitamin content makes a hearty applesauce.

Add just enough water to a stockpot to keep the apples from burning until the heat breaks them down.  I like to add a bit of lemon juice too, but this is optional.

Cut up the apples and load ’em into the stockpot.  Transparents break down easily, so no need to cut teeny tiny bits.  Fill that pot full, since the cooking process will reduce the amount.

Simmer until tender.  Again, if you are using transparents, this doesn’t take long.

Add sweetener to taste.  This can be white sugar, honey, or brown sugar.  I use brown sugar, but I have used honey.  Honey gives a wonderful distinct taste.

You can also add spices to taste.  One of my favorite combinations is nutmeg and vanilla extract.  Cinnamon is also a great choice.

And you’re done!  At this point, if you have a couple hundred pounds of apples that you are turning into applesauce (remember from yesterday’s post…yellow transparents are biennial), you can put your sauce in canning jars and process for 25 minutes.  I make enough applesauce to last Hubby and I for two years (hopefully).

You can also put your applesauce through a blender, or food mill, if you prefer a smoother sauce (especially if you want to break up those peels).  We like it chunky and we like it smooth.  We just like applesauce!

3 responses to “Apples to Sauce

  1. We have an apple tree full of apples to do nothing with. I had already planned to make plenty of apple sauce and freeze it. I like that you leave the skins on – much the same as what I do when I boil potatoes as it ensures all the goodness remains! Thanks for sharing.

    • Freezing is a great option, but I don’t have the freezer space. If your apples have a thicker skin than transparents (and most do) then you might want to run your sauce through a food mill. I happen to like potato skins too. :O)

  2. This applesauce is amazing stuff to eat! YUMMY!!!! Thanks babe!

I love hearing from you!

