For the Love of Pickled Beets

For man, autumn is a time of harvest, of gathering together. For nature, it is a time of sowing, of scattering abroad. ~Edwin Way Teale

This time of year offers an abundance through farmer’s markets and home gardens.  I’m blessed to have quite a bit of fresh produce very close at hand…in my own garden.   The drawback is I am out of the sewing studio and in the kitchen.  Alot.  But it is so worth the sacrifice!

I have harvested some beets and Hubby and I love pickled beets!  So here’s a photo shoot of some ruby red yumminess:

Yes, that white fella is a beet. I like a combination of varieties.

 

The easiest way to peel beets is to boil them first.  This could take as long as an hour.  Just keep poking with a fork to check for tenderness. 

When tender, rinse under cool water to stop the cooking process and make the beets cool enough to peel and cut up.

My favorite cookbook...copyright 1947.

My mother-in-law gave me this cookbook.  I love it!  Here’s the pickled beets recipe:

I did not use the horseradish and I substituted cider vinegar for the white vinegar.  Recipes are to be used creatively!

I use what I have...a tea strainer for a spice bag. I would've used a cinnamon stick but was out. We don't mind floating ground cinnamon. The other spices are all whole.

Bringing the brine to a boil.

This is not cold water! We don't want broken jars here!

Filling the water bath canner.

30 minutes later…pickled goodness!

What is happening in your kitchen?

One response to “For the Love of Pickled Beets

  1. They taste as good as they look too! Yummy stuff!

I love hearing from you!

